The Great Escape


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
August 11th 2006
Published: April 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I'm back in Salisbury, looking for a new job.
Where to begin?
Perhaps with the roof of the flat that I was living in that looked like it was going to cave in at any second from water damage.
Or perhaps with the shower that either ran scolding hot or freezing cold and only stayed on for 3 seconds (I counted).
Or with the bus that I had to catch into Bath that cost £5.10 and seemed that no matter what time I arrived at the bus stop it always took 45mins to get there even though they ran every 30mins.
Or the location which was beautiful, but in the middle of nowhere and to do anything besides sitting in the flat watching BBC1 (the only channel it got) I would have to catch said bus.
Or the owner who in one sentence told me to clean up and then in the other to help the customers - I can only be in one place at a time.
Or the onwer telling me he was waching me on the CCTV.
Or the 6 hour shifts with no breaks - even to go to the toilet because that would leave the bar unattended.
Or the other staff who barely said 10 words to me the entire time.
Or being left to kick out the locals (4 middle aged bachelors) at 11.30pm - not as easy as it sounds.
But true to my upbringing I feel compelled to state some positives - like I now have experience behind a bar, I got a weeks free 'holiday' in Bath and I meet a lovely Polish girl who I hope to add to my list of friends.
So on Tuesday I 'escaped' - I packed my bags before going down to do the lunch shift and at 3.30 when everyone else had gone home I made a break for it. I had of course told the owner that I was leaving, except he wanted me to stay until the end of the week but there was no way my sanity was going to last that long.
Yesterday I went to four interviews in London - not an easy task seeing as how they were at opposite ends of the city, but I did it. I'm hoping to hear today what the outcomes are. Hopefully it will be better this time, but I figure that if its not, I'm in London and there's more to do and see to take my mind off it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.366s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb