Oxford, Bath, and Stonehenge


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
February 27th 2007
Published: February 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hi!
So this definitely did not come out on Sunday, but again, I had a midterm today, and I have a 10 page research paper due next Monday, that I had yet to start. So, it's Tuesday evening and I am finally getting around to this. This weekend was a school trip to Oxford, Bath, and Stonehenge.

We left on Friday to go to Oxford which I guess is like the Harvard of England. However, I found couple things that could explain that they are not nearly as smart as they say they are. 😊 It was fun to see this college town, but it was a lot like Cambridge, so I wasn't nearly as entertained. However, it was brought to our attention that A couple of scenes from the Harry Potter movies were filmed here, so I got to stand in places where Harry Potter once stood. We left Oxford and headed to Bath which is where we were staying for the next two nights in this wonderful bed and breakfast.

When we went to Bath, we found that the Moscow City Ballet was in town and they were performing Swan Lake at the local theatre. So I persuaded my fellow roommates to go to the Ballet with me. They paid 3 pounds to stand for the entire time, i paid 10 pounds and got second row seats in the balcony. Great seats for so cheap! It was the most amazing thing ever - Russian ballet people! This was probably the highlight of the entire trip!

The next day we headed to Wells to see the Wells cathedral. This was the totally coolest cathedral I have seen yet. The ceiling was amazing. We technically weren't supposed to take pictures unless we had paid two pounds for picture taking. So, Oops, but we're poor college kids, what do they expect? Then we headed to this place where they supposedly have King Arthurs grave and the whole story to go along with it. I didn't really get it. This was thoroughly boring for me, but at least I can say I've seen it. When we got back I decided to do some homework while the other girls went an explored around Bath. There wasn't really much there for me to see, and I was way stressed out by the massive amounts of homework I had, so it was a good thing. That night we went to Sally Lunn's which is a restaurant housed in the oldest building in bath and they only had fancy stuff on the menu, where I don't usually eat fancy stuff, so the sirloin steak I had, wasn't my cup of tea, but wasn't too bad.

The third day was Roman Bath and Stonehenge day which was the climax of the trip. The roman baths were pretty awesome because they were so old and had so much history behind it, and were still standing. Shame that we weren't allowed in the Baths because they were super gross. And stonehenge was in the complete middle of no where, but like a mecca for crazy people. They were pretty cool to see, because they are so famous, but to tell you the truth, they will always be just a big pile of rocks to me. 😊

Not much else to say. Leaving for Berlin Germany in two days - getting ready to see some of my heritage! Looking very forward to it. Almost up on the two month mark!!! half way point!! WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!

Lots of love!
alyssa

http://alyssadesmith.myphotoalbum.com/


Advertisement



28th February 2007

stonehenge
It is my mecca. but then again, I am crazy. Have a great time in Germany. Greet Helga, the barmaid, for me.
28th February 2007

It was so cool to see the Harry Potter stuff, and I am glad my little dancer got to see the ballet. I can't wait to see Stonehenge too, even if it is a pile of rocks-the way they are there is so strange. Behave in Berlin-we will see you soon!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb