Day Eight - Oxford Castle and Oxford Wandering


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
January 5th 2012
Published: May 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This morning we did the Oxford Castle Unlocked experience which I admit I didn’t really want to do. I have to say it was a very enjoyable morning and the tour was done very well indeed. I highly recommend this as a way to get an idea of the history of Oxford Castle and jail.



We then caught the bus down to Wolvercote. This was where one of my grandparents lived when I was a child and I wanted to show the family the village and particularly Wolvercote Common, where I had spent so much time playing as a child. We walked through the village and on to the Trout for lunch. We didn’t have a reservation but luckily managed to get a table. I was amazed how crowded it was on a cold winter’s day! We had fish and chips, which was very nice, but again the restaurant was so overheated it was quite uncomfortable. Do the English like being very hot while eating, sleeping and shopping? Everywhere was so hot we had to wear thin t-shirts or shorts with a heavy coat over for outside!



We spent the afternoon at Magdalen College and more walking around the Oxford lanes. We attempted to go to the Bear for a drink, but it was packed and there were no free tables. Our son is 6’ 4” and couldn’t stand up without hitting his head on the ceiling so that idea was out! We then went to the Lamb and Flag and onto Strada for an Italian dinner which was very nice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb