Wednesday, 2:53 PM & Thursday AM too!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
May 13th 2009
Published: May 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wesley Memorial Stained GlassWesley Memorial Stained GlassWesley Memorial Stained Glass

Welsey Memorial Methodist Church on New Inn Hall Street. I found myself here Monday. The building is a still-used 1800s church, the 3rd build on that site. The photo is of the E facing Dutch stained glass, which is lovely.
So I feel I have not kept up with all that's been happening. Today was the introduction to Oxford tutorials and libraries - scary stuff. But exciting.

Since I last blogged, I got into my hostel, got to view art by a fellow hostel-stayer, toured Oxford, went to services, went to the Eagle & Child, found Chester House (home base for the program) got my key, got my roommates, cleaned my room (went for groceries and cleaning supplies), got bedding, drank tea, and got the history of a 1800s Methodist church. In other words, modern but with Dutch glass. Yesterday met quite a few other study abroad students, as well as Melissa on Sunday and several of her friends. Besides hanging out en masse, the roommates & I chatted with our UK student who's going for her masters.

I'm writing between orientation classes, and have to go. No pictures therefore as I'm not at my flat. I connected online there late last night after moving in early that morning, but the connection is on and off. Oh, and the baggage adventure . . . but I’m not going there. By the way, all of this was by means of
Countryside by where I live: TrainsCountryside by where I live: TrainsCountryside by where I live: Trains

Trains, meadows, and roads. And a 20 minute walk to the center of town (further to my college).
walking except one ride. My arms today remember the bedding and groceries.

Miss you all but am having too much fun to experience culture shock yet -- apart from the rain and the fact that it's rude to directly ask certain questions. Got to go!
------------------------
Thursday, 8:47 AM

So I have internet and some pictures. Therefore, you are getting some 😊. Yesterday we took among other things, an interesting history of the Thatcher era and a marvelous walking tour of Oxford with an Oxford professor who pointed out architecture styles - St. Michael's tower, Christ Church, Alice's Green Door, and a place Shakespeare might have stayed for some examples. Lovely. And then one of my roommates shared some amazing pictures from his recent trip to Normandy beaches and Mont Saint Michel in France.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Countryside by where I live: MeadowsCountryside by where I live: Meadows
Countryside by where I live: Meadows

If I leave my flat, I can turn to the left and hit a scenic trail . . .
Countryside by where I live: TreesCountryside by where I live: Trees
Countryside by where I live: Trees

trees in the meadow by the path


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb