Earthquake!!!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
February 27th 2008
Published: February 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So last night as I was desperately trying to fall asleep but failing due to too much coffee. However it did not matter because at around 1 am this morning my bed started starting shaking as though someone was standing at the end shaking the bedpost as hard as they could. I of course was freaking out to myself because I wasnt sure what was going on or if I was just imagining things because I was so tired. Not only was the bed shaking like it was possessed but I could hear the walls shaking as well and our desks bumping against them. I decided I was just going to lay in bed and try to calm back down when I hear a couple of the women in our flat talking. So i joined them and soon all of us that were home were discussing what had just happened and wondering how Joy could have slept through all that noise and shaking. I think we were all a little freaked because soon we started discussing what to do if it happened again and began counting all the doorways in the upstairs making sure there was enough for us to stand in. After about 10-15 minutes of reassuring ourselves and discussing how we couldnt believe we had just experienced an earthquake I headed back to bed where I learned my room mate Kia had also slept through this ordeal and only woke up because we were talking so loud.

So yeah I just experienced my first earthquake that was about a 5.3 and then first one in England in the last 25 years. Man I just get to experience lots of new things this year 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.498s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb