Welcome to Nott.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
September 12th 2007
Published: September 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey all!!!

Well the flying part of the journey to england is finally over and now the real fun begins.

My flight started fine, well actually Katie and I showed up at Cedar Rapids at 4 for a 6:20 flight and they thought we were going on the 4:30 flight. When they finally realized what flight we were actually supposed to be on we were told that we would probably not make our connecting flight if we stayed with this airline. So, after clearing away our confusion we transfered to another airline. This being done they check-in lady said we needed to be up there in 5 minutes. When I heard 5 minutes I kind of went in to shock. I had been expecting more time for good byes or pictures. Well as Katie and I rushed to get through check in we ended up having to get patted down. Which I must say made me feel foolish. Anyway once we were finished with that ordeal we hurried up the stairs to the restsooms where we thought we had plenty of time. Turns out, not so much. After finishing in the restroom they had already started to board the plane and so we had to run inorder to make it.

The rest of the trip went smoothly. In fact, the flight from Chicago to England went by quickly ( the plane had individual in flight movies).


Upon arriving at the airport we experienced the long line of immigration, it felt weird to be asked what our purpose was during this stay. After finishing that we finally found Storm and the others. The trip back to Nottingham took about 2.5 hours. It felt very strange to be driving on the opposite side of the road. One other thing I did notice was how the scenery reminded me a lot of home. However, I did not catch most of the ride to Nottingham, I zonked soon after getting in.

Upon arriving we entered the flat to find that our rooms had already been picked out for us and most of the beds preiouly made. It was a relief to begin the unpacking process. I share a room with Kia and our room is smaller that a dorm room, but cozy. We have these little metal bunk beds that I have managed to hit my head on twice already.

Well dinner was amazing tonight. It all began with Erin (Storm's wife) calling us to dinner with a little dinner bell. The simpleness of it all, plus not being airplane food, made for an enjoyable evening. However, to top off our evening we went as a group down to the local pub. Whitemoor was the name and it was a cozy place that wasnt very crowded. I enjoyed the atmosphere and had my first pint!

Well I know only around 9:30 here but I am extremely exhausted.

Till another time 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb