The Journey


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Northumberland » Morpeth
November 2nd 2005
Published: April 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Having said my farewells to all (including Jasper and Rory), I waved Morpeth goodbye and set off on my travels. I'm afraid all I can say about the car journey to Glasgow was that it was wet! A typical grey, wet and miserable winters day.

It made me laugh, cos sitting in the car Dad turned to me and said "just think you're leaving this all behind for sunshine"....little did he know that when I landed in Brisbane there was torrential rain and days earlier they had experienced a crazy hail storm! Ok, it was raining but the temperature and humidity was slightly different to the UK, so no complaints from me.

Anyway, as for the bit in between....the flight literally flew by (pun intended!). I really do think this is were my luck began. I had a brilliant seat, an amazing choice of films or games, the food was gorgeous and just kept coming and then to find that instead of having what I thought was going to be a gruelling eight hour overnight stop in Dubai, a taxi picks me up, takes me to a 5 star hotel, breakfast in the morning and then a personal transfer back to the airport (and all included in my very cheap ticket unbeknown to me!)!!! The next leg from Dubai to Brisbane was just as comfortable with only a fleeting stop in Singapore airport (a very nice airport too) before continuing onto Brisbane for a quick holiday!

All in all, I thought the journey was good- no horror stories and no real jet lag that you hear about. And I would definately recommend Emirates to any of you travelling in the near future (constant Ben and Jerry's ice cream - what more does a girl need!).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb