Badger Adventures Coast to Coast Day 10 - Keld to Reeth


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire
October 7th 2017
Published: October 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

We had stayed at a fantastic place the previous day called Butt House in Keld as such I was well refreshed for the day ahead. Sadly shortly after starting off I was feeling quite ill and had a poorly tummy for ‘womens’ reasons! I was loving the walking through rolling farmers fields and alongside a beautiful river, due to the scheduled poor weather we had taken the low route.

I was struggling not because of the walking which was great and easier than what had gone previously, but my stomach was not playing ball. The weather had once again been kind to us with it being dry and occassionally warm, leaving the beautiful village of Keld we were heading for Reeth about 11 miles away. I quickly decided that I would have to bail at the second of our scheduled coffee shop visits so I could get to the accommodation early and sort myself out. I didn’t want to miss part of the walk but again common sense dictated that it would be the prudent decision.

With the very pleasant walking conditions and relaxed terrain group morale was very high with much laughter and joviality along the way, I was really pleased with the group we had so lucky.

We called in at a place called Mucker for a short stop which was a very nice village indeed I could easily have lived there! Then it was on to Gunnerside where we would have our lunch stop, again a lovely slightly bigger village. This was sadly where my walk came to an end, Judy and Pete decided to carry on as I knew they would; I was gutted to call it a day but with only roughly 5 miles left to go I had completed most of the walk.

I’m loving the fact I’m now in North Yorkshire and the countryside is awesome. I’m hoping my stomach will play ball and I will have a full days walking tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb