York, England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » York
July 31st 2005
Published: August 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I reached the train station and found that I had an hour to spare before my train was due so I took to the streets to see what sights I could find nearby. Luckily for me, York is a beautiful clean city full of friendly people, you only need to board a bus for five minutes before you notice the difference between here and London.

As it was a Sunday, I could here a church bell ringing continuously and decided to follow the sound to see what I could find. Exiting the station and following part of the city walls which run through the modern day city, the first thing I came to was the War Memorial Garden close to the river bank and sat there for a while. After that and still hearing the bells (though louder this time), I crossed the River Ouse and found the Yorkshire Museum and the beautiful gardens in which it is situated. Also in the gardens were the ruins of York Abbey, the Observatory and just outside St. Olaf's Church with the ringing bell tower.

After a quick round of photos, it was time to get back to the station to catch the train to London.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

St. Olave's ChurchSt. Olave's Church
St. Olave's Church

Dedicated to Olaf, the Patron Saint of Norway


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb