Mobile Phones Are No Help in Norfolk


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Thetford
August 27th 2023
Published: September 2nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Thetford ForestThetford ForestThetford Forest

The rain seemed to help bring out the colours in this picture.
Before I went to bed I was very careful to check the tide and then double check and then treble check and then got my wife to check. It was high tide at about 4.00am, so it would be going out and definitely, definitely not going in by the time I got there for sunrise.

I got up at 5.00am and drove back to Happisburgh. There were no problems getting to the sea defences this time. I had them all to myself again for a while, until two other photographers arrived (different to the two in Cromer last night - see Failing To Check Addresses, Tides, Routes, Weather, Pronunciations and Chip Shop Closing Times). At least I could now take some additional reassurance that I wouldn't get trapped on the beach. And if I did, I wouldn't be the only one and I'd have some company whilst we were waiting 12 hours for the tide to go back out again.

There was no mobile signal on the beach, so it's not like we could call for help or call my wife to explain where I was.

It did look like the sea doesn't often reach the higher parts of the beach, but then all the damage to the ever disappearing
RainRainRain

We got extremely wet during our walk in Thetford Forest.
cliffs is clear evidence that the whole beach is covered during the worst storms.

Once the pictures were secured, I returned to the safety of the lighthouse again and then drove back to Norwich.

We went to a nearby café for some brunch with my wife's friends and then we set about driving back home.

We had a little stop-off at Thetford Forest for a walk. Their set-up is almost identical to Wendover Woods, which are near where we live, with a long convoluted drive in and out, and then lots going on such as barbecues, waking, cycling, fitness trails and Go-Ape treetop climbing.

We found a map that showed a number of different walks, but then there were no signs showing which way to go to the walks. We got completely lost, which wasn't helped by the fact that, yet again, there were no mobile signals, so we couldn't even get a map up on our phones.

Then, to add insult to injury, it absolutely hammered-down with rain. We were drenched and lost and debating whose fault it was. We blamed the signs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Happisburgh Sea DefencesHappisburgh Sea Defences
Happisburgh Sea Defences

This time with a bit of a sunrise.
Happisburgh LighthouseHappisburgh Lighthouse
Happisburgh Lighthouse

Back again in the morning.


Tot: 0.317s; Tpl: 0.056s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0924s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb