Snetterton - British Superbikes


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Snetterton
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SnetertonSnetertonSneterton

I really liked this bike until the guy that owned it said I could polish it but he meant using my coat as a polishing duster, he was joking and turned out to be a nice guy
Well I’ve never been a fan of motorbikes because of the way they scream past the car when Darren and I are out driving, mind you milk floats scream past Darren when he’s behind the wheel. Never the less my first outing found me heading down to the Norfolk countryside and the Snetterton racing circuit for the British Superbikes event.

When I got to the circuit I was very weary of all the bikes as they rolled into the parking area but I soon started to mingle with the bikers and started to realise they’re not a bad lot at all, apart from the one guy that wanted to use me to wipe the bugs of his windshield. I tagged onto a small bunch of guys who seemed to be having a good time and didn’t seem to mind me being with them. We had a look around the bike park at all the different bikes that had come to the event and some quite took my fancy but others I didn’t like at all. There were Honda’s Suzuki’s, Yamaha’s, Harley Davidson’s and many more makes all polished especially for the day, I can’t say which I liked the
Boogie on GulliverBoogie on GulliverBoogie on Gulliver

All around the parking area the guy and girls where having such a good time listening to the music, I just felt the need for a bop
best because they were all nice.

Soon it was time for the first Superbikes race to start and I wasn’t sure what was happening but soon after a while I started to get into the racing once I knew the noise was not going to hurt me. I watched as the riders banked their machines around the corners sliding their knees on the track as they went. It amazed me the riders didn’t fall off, but then again some did. The race ended with Jonathan Rea taking second place to Ryuichi Kiyonari the winner both on HM Plant Honda team bikes.

In the afternoon we headed back to the track to watch the second race. This was much better for me because I knew what was going on and I was excited watching the race. I didn’t have a favourite rider or team, I was just watching in amazement as the bikes roared around the track. Once again the race ended with Jonathan Rea taking second place to Ryuichi Kiyonari again but with a bigger gap between then, more than 6/10-ths of a second.

I got chatting to some of the guys who said if I enjoyed it that much then I should go to see the World Superbikes next week at Silverstone but I’m not sure where that is or how I’m going to get there. I think I’ll have to find an internet café and get online to see what that’s all about.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0993s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb