The Bike Ride


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Reepham
November 8th 2007
Published: November 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mariott's WayMariott's WayMariott's Way

This is the name of the path I followed
So today I did something very un-Greg Trusz like. In all honesty, I'm not sure what I was thinking. I had a day off and nothing else to do so I decided to take a bike ride. A 26 mile bike ride. For more details, read on.

I have a cycle map for Norwich, it's really nice and tells you where there are bike lines and paths in town and what roads to avoid. And on it it shows a pathway called National Cycle Network Route 1. So I looked it up on-line and it turns out that the UK has a great bike trail system all over the country and this was one of those routes.

The next town on the route from Norwich is called Reepham, and I decided I would check it out. So I left about 9:30 this morning on my little yellow mountain bike. The path was built on an old rail line, so it was fairly flat and pretty straight. The very beginning was paved, then it was hard packed dirt and then in some areas it was covered in leaves. The leaves made the going a little bit difficult.

The views were great, horses and sheep, farmland, and rivers. Just all kinds of sights along the path. It took me about 2 hours to get to Reepham. It's a teeny tiny little town with a cute little square in the middle. The unique thing about Reepham are its churches. At one time there were 3 separate churches in one church yard! Only two remain and they have been joined together.

I walked around for a little while popping into the one shop and one convenience store in town. Then I went to the King's Arms Pub for lunch. It was pretty tasty. Unfortunately, over the course of my meal the temperature outside dropped about 10 degrees and it had started to mist. So I started on my way home before the weather got any worse. The trip home was fine, the weather cooperated until just outside of Norwich when it started raining. The heavy rain held off until I got safely inside my flat. Then the skies opened up and it downright poured for about 15 minutes. I took a nap. I think I deserved it after going that far!

This trip was more about personal accomplishment than sight-seeing. The ride was good and the town was nice, but the best part was proving to myself that I could do it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The Two ChurchesThe Two Churches
The Two Churches

See the second tower in the background?


Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.2014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb