All My Bags are Packed


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
December 14th 2007
Published: December 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well folks, this is it. In 24 hours I will be on a plane over the Atlantic heading back to Lucasville (by way of Minneapolis and Cincinnati). It's hard to believe that my time abroad is up. It seems like just yesterday I was writing about traveling in France and Italy.

I have learned a lot about myself and what I feel is important over the last couple of months.

First off, I have learned how independent I can be. I have taken care of myself since August 30- feeding, clothing, and cleaning myself! I know I can live on my own and not end up dead 😊

I am now a braver person now too. Looking back, I can't believe I went hiking for miles along a cliff, jumped off a mountain in Switzerland, tried sushi (the raw fish kind!), rode a bike 26 miles in one day, or spent 3 days in London all by myself. I feel like I am up for trying just about anything- let me know and I'll give it a shot!

But more importantly than the previous two things, I have learned how important the other people in my life are. I have always loved my family and friends, but might have taken them for granted in the past. They were always there. Now I know how special it is for me to have such a loving family and stellar friends. You know what they say, absence makes the heart grow fonder!

While I am sad to be leaving all of the new friends I have made here in Norwich, I am ready to come home. I know that I belong in the United States, in Ohio, in Lucasville or at Bowling Green. I will miss England and will want to come back to visit (companions are welcome!) but I am ready to get back to my routine.

Sorry if this was a bit boring and philosophical, but I'm in that kind of mood right now. I'll be silly and cheerful again Sunday morning! I look forward to seeing you all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb