Three Beefs


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
September 28th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok- so I am loving being here at UEA. Everything is great, my classes, my room, my flatmates, etc. But there are three things that are quite unfortunate/annoying.

1) Fire Alarms. The bulk of the student body has been here for 6 nights and there has already been 3 fire alarms in my building. And no, they don't happen at convenient times. They happen at 2:30 am! As many of you know (Bob especially) that this is way past my bedtime. I am always sound asleep in my little bed under my "duvet" and have to rip myself out of bed, find warm clothes, find my keys, and go outside. Not Cool.

2) No Varsity Sports. In the United Kingdom, there are no intercollegiate athletics. I asked a guy about this and he said, "You know if you are going to be a pro footballer long before starting Uni." How can I be a belligerent fan if there aren't any sports teams? My slight bit of consolation is the fact that Norwich does indeed have a pro soccer/football team. Unfortunately it is about $40 for a ticket, so I won't be attending very often.

3) ABC.com. As you all may know, yesterday was the season premier of Grey's Anatomy. I knew that I was going to miss hanging out with the gang on Thursday nights watching the antics at Seattle Grace. But I also knew that all of the episodes are posted on ABC.com after airing. So I figured I would be able to spend my free Friday afternoons watching the episode from the night before. I go to ABC.com to watch and it says, "Only viewers within the United States can watch these full-length episodes." Arrggghhhh.

So I am done ranting for a while. I'm not sure what I'm going to do today, I don't have any classes and am in pretty good shape with my reading. Oh well, I'm sure I'll find something!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb