As if I live here


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
September 8th 2018
Published: September 10th 2018
Edit Blog Post

University of CambridgeUniversity of CambridgeUniversity of Cambridge

One of many, many gates
Silver Lining Dept.: being ill was actually a great gift; it got me out of tourist mode and into ”residence” sooner than I might have otherwise done.
I am inhabiting this space and place, not merely perching here. I shop, I cook, I wash up. I watch TV (WAY too many vet and animal rescue shows!), I do laundry, iron, clean house, nap, read, water plants and sit in the sun watching the cat prowl the garden.
If I can my dial my judgey mind back a few notches (“You SHOULD be maximizing this opportunity - go to the coast! Get over to xxxx!), I’m quite happy going with the flow. When traffic is bad, I go someplace else, even stay home. After all, I LIVE here, and can pick a better day, a better time.

That was the point of this whole exercise, right?

But I also DO get out and about... an hour’s Sunday drive to Cambridge (lovely, and seemingly less crowded than Oxford, though still bustling), and church bells and services greeted me. I paid ($13) to tour Kings College, then skirted by the gates and grounds of numerous others (the University, established in 1209,
Morning PrayerMorning PrayerMorning Prayer

Church of Mary the Great
comprises 31 colleges).

It was fun to watch the punters and kayakers along the River Cam. No, regrettably, I resisted: it was blustery and showery, heavily hustled and crowded, and one was requires to crouch low upon boarding, something these knees no longer support....

There’s been a market in old town since the Middle Ages, and I took advantage of a bench to people-watch and listen to an excellent guitarist after my “Bridge Street Breakfastl“ at Fitzbillies.

The crowning experience of my weekend was getting to Bury St. Edmunds, a charming market town from which I have ancestors. The Abbey Gate and Gardens were lovely, and full of color even in summer’s waning. Along one edge flowed River Lark, from which I am confident we get the family name Larkin...?


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Hell of a devilHell of a devil
Hell of a devil

Keeping folks in line...
Full English breakfast Full English breakfast
Full English breakfast

Two each; eggs, sausages, bacon, tomatoes, toast
 Cafe on a scooter Cafe on a scooter
Cafe on a scooter

Five feet long
Hot chocolate in BuryHot chocolate in Bury
Hot chocolate in Bury

Resting my weary bones at the Abbey Gate


10th September 2018

I appreciate your recognition that you do not have to be on the go all the time. That the goal was to experience living there. And there's plenty of time to see what needs to be seen. Love your photos and find myself yearning to be other than where I am. Must renegotiate that...
10th September 2018

Yep
Thanks for the validation, Diane! After my extensive travels this weekend, I’m having a quiet day, in which my big adventure was refueling the car ($52.. gulp!), making potato salad, and bingeing on realty shows like “Escape to the Country” and “A Home in the Sun.”

Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb