How to be sick in England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
September 5th 2018
Published: September 7th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Dinner with Rachel Dinner with Rachel Dinner with Rachel

A Marks and Spence Quiche Lorraine
Thanks to all for the expressed good wishes regarding my annoying little head cold. It’s nothing, really, and if I’ve been a bit of a - um - guy about it... it’s just that it’s been so long since I’ve been sick that I’m quite nonplused.

I feel better each day, and then - without warning - I have a sneezing/coughing attack that makes my eyes water, my nose bleed, and sounds like I’m going to hurl body parts. I’ve cleared whole supermarket aisles with this performance for the past few days. Sigh! ?

Whoever believes the Brittish are standoffish hasn’t been to Bawburgh (“Bo’brro”). No sooner had I failed to show up to a Historical Society meeting in the village than I got a call asking about my health, and inquiring whether I might need anything from “the shops.“ Further, I‘ve received invitations to attend two other events:

- A “Pensioners Lunch” (I.e., feeding the elderly) provided by the cook at the village primary school. Apparently it’s better than it sounds, as he’s a Jamie Oliver type who sources local ingredients and asssembles a “scrummy meal with substantial puddings” (desserts), all for £5.

- An evening
Veggies and vinoVeggies and vinoVeggies and vino

Sautéed and roasted
social that “has food, but mostly we drink and talk about those who aren’t there.” That should be fun! ? (In point of fact, I was astonished how many people at the Saturday coffee who, when they learned where I’m staying, began with “ Christina‘s a lovely girl, but her love life’s a mess....” Then they’d chuckle and remind me, ”We’re a small village.”)

Already on my “diary” is a bus trip (£12) to the North Sea coast with a group of neighbors. That should produce a fun blog entry!

Since I’ve been pretty home-bound, my recent photos reflect meals and village walks. Increasingly confident with driving, I’m making plans for day trips to Cambridge and the coast. If you can, check out the two video clips that I posted on FB of driving on New Road - blimey!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Banana milkBanana milk
Banana milk

This is a thing.
Yare RiverYare River
Yare River

The center of the village
The single lane bridgeThe single lane bridge
The single lane bridge

Bad sight lines!


7th September 2018

English Rose’ ???
Lovely meal pics and had to ask, where did the lovely bottle of Rose’ come from?? Probably French? Looks lovely and hopefully you will be able to attend the local elderly luncheon! Love it that you have already made friends who are checking on you ?. Take care dear friend!
7th September 2018

Rosée
The rosée was a Sainsburys “house brand” and quite good. Can’t say the same for the Italian Sangiovese I also bought - it’s pretty stringent! ? I always love shopping in other countries, it’s such an adventure, with happy surprises (such as really cheap, really good cheese here) and only a few disappointments (like the red.) ?
7th September 2018

Loving your posts and adventures
I just figured out how to comment on your wonderful reporting and the joy of experiencing it from afar! Your thorough research and planning to create this adventure and your reports of daily life bring joy to my morning reading! Thanks !
7th September 2018

Thanks!
So glad you’re reading and enjoying it, Lis, AND that you commented! It’s like “getting mail from home” whenever anyone comments (here or in FB). Big hugs to you and Doug!
8th September 2018

I didn't know you were still doing that cold. Sorry it's lasting so long. Nonetheless, you seem to be enjoying yourself. How wonderful that you're making friends, enough that they ask how you're doing and if they can do anything for you. Gossipy friends though they may be. Ha! I look forward to your outing with other people. How long are you staying in that house? Thanks for blogging. It makes my life so much more interesting.

Tot: 0.379s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb