Ew, School.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lincolnshire
January 21st 2007
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

This weekend was a bit more low key than last. We had a Field Trip for British Studies and I participated in a Day Trip thru the school.

For our Field Trip we went to Lincoln and visited the cathedral, castle, and awesome shopping. It was beautiful and we were on tours all the time, since it was a mandatory field trip and all, so we didn't get to do much by ourselve. The cathedral was gorgeous and it reminded me of Lord Farquard's castle on Shrek. I couldn't get past that thought all day long. It was a long day. However, the highlight was when we were shown the chapter room at the cathedral. The chapter room was famous because Richard the some-number (I can't keep them all straight) named who his successor would be in this room. Cool huh? but even better, The Da Vinci Code movie was filmed RIGHT HERE at the lincoln cathedral. It was a amazing. I felt like I was in Hollywood. It was gorgeous too.

Saturday, I took a day trip to beautiful Cambridge. We were able to see Cambridge University and mosey around town all day long. It was not the most exciting thing I've ever done. But I thought it was interesting to view a college town from a college student's perspective. Lots of cute little shops, and a market to shop at. I bought a hat on impulse because it's my goal to look semi-european by the time I leave, and the hat was the first step. The rest of the day we were just trying to pass time. Later once we got home, my friend Sarah and I tried to play poker (well, she knew what she was doing, me not so much...) and had great conversation.

Today, is Sunday. The day usually reserved for homework. It's SO HARD to concentrate on school when I am here. So, I spent the day trying to plan trips with different groups of friends. Not too much has been accomplished. I'm super bummed. I just want to go somewhere, and use all the time I can, wisely. So now, I'm very frustrated and gave up on the trip thing for this coming weekend because nobody wants to spend money on trips at this point. ugh! So again, instead of reading I am writing this for you guys. better appreciate it! 😊 ha ha. I will in time, I promise!

We received our Meet-A-Familiies on Thursday evening and we have a reception for them on Wednesday evening. Another dress-up event, with good food and good wine. I can't wait! My family is Mr. Tim Waite, and Ms. Clare Astill. Claire is a Marketing Director at a huge company and I am not sure what Tim does. But I cannot wait to meet them. I also have a "Brother" from Harlaxton too, we will share the family but he will not be at the reception so I am a bit nervous about that. yikes! But he's a cool kid - he's 6'6" and with me at 6 foot, I sure hope Tim and Claire are fairly tall themselves. 😊 I will update when I can!

If anybody has any ideas as to where I should visit while I'm over here, feel free to leave a comment on the site and let me know!
Hope all is well in Minny and Wisconnie!


Til Later Days...

http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_2Nm.html

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb