A word from Grimsby...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lincolnshire » Grimsby
June 17th 2010
Published: June 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is possibly the first time someone has blogged on here from Grimsby!

It's been a manic week of preparation but I'm now just about feeling ready to go. All the essentials are packed with just a few more things to buy. All the volunteers are (hopefully) as prepared as they're ever going to be for what will inevitably be a culture shock. I remember this time last year when this complete experience was a giant leap into the unknown. Something I never expected I'd ever do was actually happening. Now, I have the benefit of experience, but with such a different role this year and far more responsibility I feel just as nervous as before. That said, the excitement and longing to be there is also twice as much as before!

I fly on Saturday, arriving into Dar Es Salaam on Sunday morning. A city I didn't exactly warm to in the short time I spent there in transit last year, I hope to discover a more appealing side to Tanzania's commercial metropolis this time round. I've got a few hours before everyone else arrives from the UK on Sunday so I may get a chance to check back in then from actual Tanzania, but if not the next time will be from Arusha. Our home for 6 weeks and a city I fell in love with last year for all its madness. I just can't wait to get back and see how the projects are progressing!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb