Ready to GO


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Leicestershire » Leicester
June 18th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To Africa!

From Home to Heathrow to Cape Town.

HomeHomeHome

Here's home.
I'm at home right now, but thought I'd try out my first entry. As I've not done anything yet I suppose I'll use this to go over what I'm doing in Africa. I hope to update my travel blog with photos and entries whenever I get the chance.

I leave London for Cape Town, South Africa on 27th June with Matt Powell, a friend I met while working for Deloitte. After spending a couple of days in Cape Town, hopefully going up to Table Mountain (a large rock/small mountain in Cape Town), we start our tour proper with Acacia.

Acacia are a tour operator who use large converted trucks to cart tourists across Africa on overland tours. There'll be 22 others with us and the tour will last 41 days covering 7 different countries over thousands of miles! Along the tour there should be plenty of opportunities to take in the African scenery, wildlife, do various activities and enjoy some of the culture in a (hopefully) safe way. Here's what they say about the tour:

From Table Mountain to Mt Kilimanjaro, from giant sand dunes in ancient deserts to sun-kissed beaches on tropical Zanzibar, from thundering Victoria
The Route
Falls to the serenity of the Chobe River, from the majesty of the Ngorongoro Crater to the vast Serengeti plains - this comprehensive tour will leave you with unforgettable memories!
Full tour details here and route map here.

After our Acacia tour we'll be staying with friends Alison and Paul who live in Nairobi which is conveniently where our tour finishes! We'll spend some time in Nairobi, take another short tour to the Great Rift Valley (think Grand Canyon) and relax for a few days before coming home on 17th August.

Well thats about everything but I'll no doubt have much more to tell as we do it, and go over what we see and do while we're there. Stay tuned, or at least come back every week or two to see if I've added anything. Subscribing lets you know by email when I add something, if you'd prefer.

I'm pretty much packed (aside from actually putting everything IN the bag), so wish me luck! You can add comments to posts or message me on this thing if you like. I hope to write back soon!

to go back to my page, click mpickton near the top right of this blog.


Advertisement



26th June 2007

Have a great trip Mike
Hope you have a really great trip Mike - I can't wait to hear all about it as you travel around. Our boat trip to the Broads somehow seems quite tame in comparison - mind you, those Norfolk ducks can get a bit ferocious :-)

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb