The Prize Draw RESULTS!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire
August 12th 2006
Published: August 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Full Route

You can zoom in!

Joy picking the winning ticket!Joy picking the winning ticket!Joy picking the winning ticket!

Unfortunatley Joy is not very well at the moment and after spending a week in hospital you wouldn't want to have your picture taken either! Luckily she was still well enough to pick out the tickets. We all hope she gets better soon.
OK so the votes have been counted and verified and I am pleased to announce that Joy Welsh picked out the winning tickets today and the winners are as follows:
1st Prize - Framed Photograph by Zita
Anita from St Gregory’s School (where my Mum works)
2nd Prize - Bottle of Champagne
Jonas Zilinskas (Zita’s brother)
3rd Prize - Friends Provident Golf Umbrella
Jennifer Brown (My niece)

Congratulations to all the winners! I will be in touch to arrange delivery of the prizes!

We have raised an amazing ₤814 for Macmillan Cancer relief!

Thank you to everyone who sold raffle tickets for me and to everyone who bought them as well. I never expected to raise that amount of money and it is through your efforts and generosity that it was possible.

Well now time to thank all of those people that helped along the way during my journey - I couldn't have done it without all of you and it meant so much to me to have such fantastic support that it almost makes me cry :-)

Hannah & Rob - for letting me use their spare room and putting me up and taking me to buy a new rucksack and new socks after 3 days of walking. And coming to meet me along the towpath and motivating me to make it to Aylesbury!

Zita & Phil - for coming to rescue me and taking me for a Gin and Tonic and then to Macdonald’s, then putting up with me for 3 days whilst I couldn't walk! And then for Zita coming all the way north of Birmingham to walk with me for a day!

Andrew, Kirsty, Isaac & Reuben - for allowing me to recuperate at their home and for looking after me and then dropping me off again to start walking!

Sasha & Rob - for collecting me from Winchcombe whilst the Ladies Wimbledon Final was on and letting me stay at Rob & Sasha’s Guest House for a week and generally ferrying me around and looking after me!

Nev, Sonia & Jennifer - For Nev coming to walk with me for the day, making me laugh and staying in the Caravan and for Sonia & Jennifer for managing without him for a day!

Mum & Dad - for supporting and motivating me all the way along, for
Thank  you!Thank  you!Thank you!

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
being Command Central and looking up my position on the map every day, for walking with me for half a day and for ferrying me around! And for making a great banner and putting it up over the drive!

Also thank you to everyone who read my blog and left me comments - these were really important to me and really helped me keep going, it was so good to know people cared about what I was doing!

Just to end I must say I am still very happy about my whole journey and ecstatic I made it but my feet may never be the same again! Also I still have no idea what to do next but I think it may involve buying a house and getting a job in the near future…

Journey Statistics
Start Date - 22nd June
End Date - 5th August
Elapsed Days - 45 days (just over 6 weeks)
Walking Days - 27 Days
Total Miles - 246.11
Total Steps - 500,377
Total Granary Bars - 30
Total Separate Blisters - 25
Average Temperature - 23.11c
No of hours walking (Including Breaks) - 154.5
Average miles per hour (Including Breaks) - 1.59
Average miles per day - 9.12
Number of English Breakfasts - 8




Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb