Day 27 - Aintree to Aughton! THE FINAL DAY!!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire
August 5th 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day 27 - Saturday 5th August



I started walking this morning and I couldn’t walk fast enough. I almost considered jogging a bit but then came to my senses… I’m not that crazy yet! I didn’t want to take a break despite going past a number of attractive benches that I would normally have stopped on for a 5 minute rest.

It is the first and only day I have being able to walk without a map or backpack… past Asda, round Switchback Island, into Maghull, past the old cinema, past the turning for St Georges, under the pedestrian bridge, through the Maghull crossroads, then I looked up and saw Christ Church on the hill in the distance (this is the Church you can see out of the kitchen window at home and you can hear it’s bells toll on a Sunday morning), round Robins Island, up the hill, into Lancashire, into Aughton and then turning into Turnpike Road!

I did a bit of video of me very near the end of my walk and since I can’t get video loaded onto this site here is what I said: “Well, erm, … I’m nearly home. I’ve just got
River by Switch Back IslandRiver by Switch Back IslandRiver by Switch Back Island

You would never have known it was there unless you walked past it. I think the tyre makes it extra special!
over the last hill and can see the roundabout where I used to wait for the bus to college in Wigan. So I’ve got less then probably about half a mile to go and I suppose I can’t believe I’ve done it. Oh God! That’s fantastic. I shall er… not do anything like this again! Remember that, NO NEVER AGAIN!”

I came round the corner of Turnpike Road and could see the farm house behind the trees. I was smiling and smiling so much so that my cheeks hurt! Then I spotted some balloons at the end of the drive… What had my Mum been up to? Then I turned down the drive and was greeted by the sight of my Mum and Dad and the neighbors and a big Banner saying “Well Done Helen!” across the drive. Let me tell you it was FANTASTIC!! and then we had CHAMPAGNE!!! I was on cloud nine and also very quickly tipsy!

After a shower and some lunch I decided to burn the T-shirt I had been walking in for the last 6 weeks. I’ve decided to keep the boots though, we been through so much pain together I
The old cinema...The old cinema...The old cinema...

... now a dodgy pub! After some comments I have to add some corrections - this wasn't the cinema! The cinema got knocked down and is now a supermarket next to this pub. Also I have to admit that I haven't been to this pub recently so it may have changed from the dodgy pub it was when I was a teenager and no longer be dodgy... So if anyone tries it out and finds out it is actually a lovely place to go for a drink then let me know! I may try it out myself next time I am back in Lancashire.
couldn’t have burnt them, as I had originally planned!

It’s later in the evening now and I am very tired. Today has been excellent! I have been so happy all day. I just keep smiling… St Albans to Aughton! Walking! Who would have thought? I thought I might get quite emotional and start crying when I finished or even feel incredibly let down now that it is over, a bit of an anticlimax. But no, not at all, well at least not yet! I just feel incredibly happy! Every time I think about what I’ve done I just smile!

Mum and Dad’s house has been like a mad house all afternoon with neighbors coming and going for cups of tea, champagne or just a chat. And my little brother turned up with his brand new jeep - all very exciting stuff! Now I’m about to go out for a Chinese with my Mum and Dad - could the day get any better?

There will be one more blog posting this weekend to announce the results of the prize draw and full journey statistics! So still time to send me a photo of you as a Giant - the turn out has been very low so far! Just send them to hb5@supanet.com



Todays Stats
Start Time - 10.45am
End Time - 12.30pm
Miles today - 4.86 miles
Miles Cumulative - 246.11 miles
Steps Today - 11,101
Steps Cumulative - 500,377
Blisters - 3
Chocolate/Granary Bars - 1
Rain - None
Temp @ Noon - 22c








Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Lancashire!!!Lancashire!!!
Lancashire!!!

Isn't that a rubbish slogan Lancashire has!
A bit smelly...A bit smelly...
A bit smelly...

Despite having washed it every night!
246.11 Miles246.11 Miles
246.11 Miles

...and not a step more!


10th August 2006

Well done!
I knew you would mak it - WELL DONE! I reckon you could have got a fair bit more for charity if you had auctioned your t-shirt on e-bay!
10th August 2006

YIPPEEEE!!! HOORAY!!!!
Well done Helen! Are you walking back then? Why not put your boots on ebay instead? you could advertise them as having 'one careful lady owner, 246 mls but with full service history!!!!' look forward to seeing you when move in take care love mumm and Hannah
10th August 2006

Congratulations!!
Well done HellyB on completing your long walk home. The Guest House looks forward to seeing you on your return trip!!!!!
10th August 2006

Bloody well done ole girl
See I knew you could do it, never did it enter my head that you would stop/die/go doolay/join a sect. not once. never ever. not a sausage. So well done champagne H and look forward to celebrating your achievement (as well as some other minor bits and bobs like a wedding) next weekend. Txxx
11th August 2006

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Well done - all the very best. You have done something truly amazing. You are an A1 hero. We love you very much Kirsty Isaac Reuben and Andrew PS - you look soo healthy.
11th August 2006

Great effort Helen
Helen, well done. been following the bloggs, have been really crap at adding any comments but feel inspired to now you have done it. Take care, love paul, fleur, william and freya. You won't know what to do with yourself now.
14th August 2006

Fire
Fantastic! Well done Helen - I was pleased to see that finally fire was involved (although a bit of petrol would have helped). I am not sure why there have not been more camp fires.....but I suppose that means camping......which doesn't really fit with the "Champagne Helen" image!

Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb