Rebellion Fest - Day 4


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire » Preston
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm really tired at the moment so this blogs going to be pretty boring. Oh by the way, I didn't take any photos at the Rebellion Fest at all incase my camera got broken. Blackpool had nothing worth taking photos of so I didn't bother.

B & B Observation


Now in Newcastle. Just had a read over all my other blogs and noticed a part of it has been deleted some how. I basically went into detail about B & B I stayed in. So since it's not there, I'll try and recapture the experience.

The room cost £15 ($40) per night. It's probably one of the cheapest single rooms you'll find around England anywhere. When I arrived there was a lady who looked like a hooker standing across the street. Made me feel a tad nervous. The Hotel itself looks completely run down.
Paints falling off the walls, the lock on my door appears to be broken and the door looks as though it has been kicked in a few times before. I decided that if my stuff was left in this room I was going to ensure everything in my suitcase was securely padlocked haha.

The room is small. There's a double bed with some warehouse looking sheets on it. There's a small broken cupboard, a sink and a kettle. The lid on the kettle doesn't open.
The taps on the sink, now, these are interesting.

The water from the cold tap shoots out like a projectile. Think fireman's hose except there's no way to change the pressure of it.
The water from the hot tap is between cold and luke warm. Infact I think callign the hot water tap luke warm is somewhat of a compliment to it.

I think the bed had bed bugs. I've noticed all these bites from me and I hardly think 5 days later they're from the midges in Scotland.

Interesting experience. It actually wasn't as bad as I make it sound, aside from the bed bugs and the over-oily breakfasts the place was quite good.

Rebellion Fest - Day 4


Met up with Jane and Gareth and went to watch Intro5pect. They were really good. They're an electro/ska/punk band (I can hear Dad shouting my ear HAWKWIND as I write this) who I wasn't really into until I saw them live. Really solid band. Did a cover of The Crowd by Operation Ivy which, although it was kinda cool, wasn't really a very good cover but yeah.

After them, we went and watched The King Blues, who are a Ska/Punk band with a guy that pretty much raps. Some of their songs really reminded me of Rancid. They were choice though.

Went and saw Voodoo Glow Skulls after them who were as average performance wise as I've always thought their music was. Just don't see the buzz about them what so ever.
By this stage I was pretty fucking drunk so I decided to go and have something to eat to ensure I made it through the rest of the day.

After them was Agnostic Front who I'm just not really into all that much. Their performance was alright, but hardcore just doesn't really do it for me. We left halfway through them to watch The Restarts who were quite good.

Went and watched Neville Staple (from the Specials) after that who fucking kicked ass. Really good skanking tunes.

Gareth and I then went to Scruffy Murphys for a drink and some time to chill out before teh UK Subs played. The UK subs were as awesome as always. Completely packed out the room.

After the subs, we went and saw Sick on The Bus who were cool.

Graeth was drunk as hell so he went home. We were meant to meet up with the UK Subs dudes after the show, but I ended up going to 'Coral Island' with Jane and playing the arcade games down there. It was real fun. We played this Zombie game which went for about 3 seconds. I've decided that when the Zombies do invade I'm pretty much screwed.

Turns out Jane and I are quite fond of each other. It sucks that she lives in Scotland. I've decided I'm going to go up and see her and Gareth for a few days next week.

Newcastle


Got back here somehow by myself. So impressed haha. I nearly missed the stop for Newcastle. It took about 4 hours and cost me £32 ($86) from Blackpool (and that was getting it that morning). Not bad.

Yesterday was pretty much my 'business' day. I've decided to go to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival to see Henry Rollins spoken word next week. It cost me £15 ($40) to see him. Decided to stay there for a night and then carry on to Nairn to see Jane and Gareth. So basically I just organised the ticket, the trains, hostel and a train to London (for my Contiki tour).

Ah that's me for the moment. I've been putting off writing this because I'm so tired. Damn you alcohol and lack of sleep!


Advertisement



15th August 2008

we all miss you here geoff. it was really nice to talk to you the other night. :)

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb