Diary- January 11, 2012


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire » Ormskirk
January 23rd 2012
Published: January 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I know that people experience culture shock when they are in a new place for a certain period of time but I always thought I wasn't capable of experiencing it. Ridiculous, huh? I guess I think I am Wonder woman... I will never get homesick, I will adjust to the British culture smoothly, and my life will completely change once I leave America.

Well..I was wrong. I couldn't have been more off. I am experiencing a lot of different emotions and to be honest, it has been hard for me to adjust. I maintain my independence by exploring the city and the small towns, but there are times when I want to hop back on that plane and head to the U.S. But then I catch myself and realize that I am being a fool! I may never get an opportunity like this again and there is no point of wasting it. I actually love England so far, so much beauty and the fashion here is incredible. It would be perfect if I could sprinkle in my family, friends, and make people drive on the right side of the road. I suck at crossing streets here.

From not having many natural hair products, to having a completely different size of clothing and shoes, even to having to use salad cream instead of Thousand Island can get me frustrated! And then I am the only black American girl here (at least this semester) so that is a little awkward too! I didn't realize how important it is to have other African Americans around me who understand my culture. That never crossed my mind before.

Overall, I am having a rough period but it is nothing I can't handle. Whenever I feel crappy I go to Liverpool city centre and chill there. And that's exactly what I did today. I don't have many photos and I didn't take pics of anything special...I just shot. I will be updating soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb