Buck up your ideas!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
June 4th 2008
Published: June 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, short and sweet, here is the latest...

I have been looking for work here in the UK, just something temporary so that I can earn some pounds and keep myself fed and housed and maybe have some money for some more travel too.

So, I have signed up with a number of recruitment agencies, 2 in London and a couple down in Canterbury and the idea is that I would prefer to get some work in Canterbury to be near the family, and I have accommodation already sorted for Canterbury, but if something in London comes up then I'll take that and then earn some pounds in the meantime.

Inevitably, that's what has happened! I had an interview up in London on Monday, only to be offered the job, 7 days work, working for Starbucks Coffee Company! I know, I know, but I need the pounds and it is working for their head office in London, working on their retail recrutiment, chasing up potential employees, or something like that. So now, it is Wednesday morning, I have a coach ride booked for later this afternoon to get me to London so that I can get to work on time tomorrow. And in the meantime, I'm hoping that the work pans out in Canterbury so that I can come back! Especially as, at the moment, I am booked into a hostel for a couple of nights and then who knows yet for the weekend, and then maybe, staying with the lovely Steve's brother from Monday. But let's just go with the flow, see what happens.

As you can tell, I am taking this new-ish philosophy of going with the flow to heart and despite the fact I now have a cold that is taking over my respiratory system (well it feels like it, ok?) I am soldiering on. So there. Anal retentiveness is a thing of the past...well, until I revert back to form and freak out!

In any case, keep your fingers crossed, that the work is easy, pays well, I'm not the one who has to make the coffee (can you imagine the pressure?!?), the hostel is clean and I don't cough all night, that the Canterbury stuff comes through, that...well, you know, everything that I am probably subconsciously worrying about sorts itself out.

Oh, and just so you know, I bought more shoes yesterday, but I'm allowed...they're for work! xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb