An update on life in England...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
September 8th 2007
Published: September 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My new hair cut!My new hair cut!My new hair cut!

no, I didn't cry, yes, I kept the ponytail!
Thought it was about time I did a bit of an update on life in England...

I've been here about 7 weeks now, I think and so far I have cut my hair, got a job, gone on an overnight work trip to Coventry (who knew my first trip would be to Coventry?!), explored the local area a bit, had a couple of trips into London, visited a local zoo and celebrated a birthday.

For those of you who don't know, I started work at Coty a few weeks back, working as a project assistant. The work is fairly simple and not all that challenging, but for the short term, that suits. Check out their website if you're interested - www.coty.com
It does involve some great cheap and free cosmetics and perfumes, so I'm not complaining too much, plus its earning me UK pounds, so yay for that!

A couple of weeks back we had a long weekend, during which Jen threw a karaoke house party, which turned out to be quite fun. I managed to get some great video evidence of John singing, which will be forever a great memory!
During the weekend we also visited the
Folkestone's own postcard rowFolkestone's own postcard rowFolkestone's own postcard row

This is literally about 30 metres from JJs house. Its such a gorgeous area
local zoo, Port Lympne (I think), which was quite fun. They have a great safari set up and the weather was gorgeous, so no complaints. What was unique was driving around in a 4WD truck viewing safari animals in amongst roman ruins and with a castle in the background. Quite an experience which the pics don't do justice to.

My birthday was back in August and I was very nicely spoilt with presents, cards, phone calls, emails and texts, so thanks everyone! JJ also took me out for dinner to a great local restaurant, which was fab. Obviously not quite the same as celebrating a b'day at home, but for my first overseas b'day, the only complaint I had was that it was raining! Now you might expect that I'd be reconciled to that, given I'm currently living in England, but I was kinda hoping for this b'day to be the first summer b'day, given it was technically summer!

I've managed to catch up with a few friends while here, some already living here, some on trips themselves, which has been fun.

A few observations about England, mainly for the info and amusement of my Aussie friends!:
Steps to the beachSteps to the beachSteps to the beach

the tide was in.... so the locals lay on the concrete footpaths instead of the sand!!!


They have no idea what the following items are (and I have no idea how they've managed without them, quite frankly!):

Musk sticks (the concept of eating something musk flavoured is lost on the english); chicken salt (specifically from KFC - they don't even salt the chips over here, just give you packets of normal salt - what the?!); other KFC thing - potato and gravy (they just have gravy and its not nealy as good!); fantales; tim tams (although you can get them in the supermarket, its just the originals) and tim tam slams; cherry ripes; chicos; mint slices; potato scallops.

Going for a walk along the sea front the other day was pretty amusing, in that the tide was in, so all these locals were lying about on the concrete footpath that runs along the edge of the water. Quite hilarious for a girl that is used to seeing beaches with miles and miles of sand!!

What they do have that is pretty cool:

cute little black faced sheep, with little black legs that look like they are wearing long socks! (ok, so I'm a bit sad!); green pastures (hey, I'm a girl
what a viewwhat a viewwhat a view

and you can just see bits of France on the horizon
from a drought ridden country!); a view of France on a clear day from about 50 metres away from where I live; trips to Europe from about 40 pound; Wagamamas (a great noodle restuarant, for those familiar with Red Rock, its like that); Oust houses; a show called 'Coupling' - VERY funny; Jude Law, Orlando Bloom etc etc; Angel Delight (a mousse type dessert that comes in powder form that you whip with milk, leave for 5 minutes and then eat - yum); really good battered fish and chips; a wealth of opportunity to explore the world and meet new people.

What they don't have:
my family and friends - miss you all!


Thats about all folks, life is good, hope its treating you well also. More updates to come (mainly when I actually have something to update you on!). Until then, take care!

xx




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

GiraffeGiraffe
Giraffe

I just thought this was a cute pic!
Silverback walkingSilverback walking
Silverback walking

check out those arms!
Castle in the backgroundCastle in the background
Castle in the background

not a bad view for the animals
Room with a viewRoom with a view
Room with a view

the watering hole, with the cabins that you'll soon be able to stay in overnight - for the right price, of course!
who is also a friendly local...who is also a friendly local...
who is also a friendly local...

and who was also eating the drivers sandwiches!
3 generations of mice3 generations of mice
3 generations of mice

can you see the tiny one towards the back?!


10th September 2007

WOW!
I love you HAIR!! its amazing, the photos of animals are great and its good to know you got a job. Wagamama's has opened in the Canberra centre, and coupling... THE funniest show on TV!! Glad you discovered it, :) I just love it its like friends... but funny:)

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb