HOME!! but not before being rescued by a man working for coca cola,


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Canterbury
March 29th 2010
Published: March 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm now back home and back to work. It was brilliant to be back and see everyone again but i had my first day back at work today and already miss travelling.

Delhi was really good and we saw so many fascinating places, like the place where Gandhi was shot and also a tomb that was older then the taj but looked just as beautiful called Humuyens tomb.
I also went to an IPL match (on my own as the girls didn't fancy it) which was so brilliant, such a party atmosphere and the music hardly stopped. But the cricket was really exciting anyway and Matthew Hayden hit some huge sixes with the revolutionary new bat that nobody ever used before. I saw Murilitheran bowling as well which was cool. Disaster struck when i was leaving the stadium though, in the huge crowds filing out someone pick-pocketed my wallet. I couldn't believe it at first i was just shocked i couldn't have felt it being taken out of the front pocket of my jeans!. Then I had a bit of a panic as for 30 seconds i was in the middle of a massive crowd in Delhi about 40mins taxi ride from our hotel with no money and no phone and completely on my own!!
but i managed to find a policeman who was really unhelpful, and wouldn't do anything, just said go back your hotel or phone the police station. Both of which i already wanted to do but couldn't. Then an indian man stopped and asked if he could help with anything. Thankfully he was just a really generous helpful man and took me to the nearest metro station on his bike, bought me a ticket to my stop and took me to the platform. He worked for Coca Cola which was the only thing i found out about him. I had to change trains as well but another man started talking to me on the train and showed me exactly where to go. As soon as i told them i'd had my wallet stolen they were just so desperate to help me and kept saying "i really hope you don't get a bad impression of india from this". Thanks to all the people i met like that i was still able to have a great time and i had less then a fivers worth of cash in the wallet. The only other thing in it was a bank card which i cancelled within a few hours. When i was back at the hotel i could use my emergency card and i'd kept some cash just in case.
Overall it just made me more aware of the diversity of people in India and how it truly is a land with the extremes of the human race. The richest, the poorest, the kindest and the most desperate. But the things that really would have caused me a lot of bother like tickets or my passports were all still safe so i still enjoyed the last 4 days.

We caught our flight to Mumbai ok and we got a another little look round when we took a taxi to the girls' german friends house.
She was a really nice lady that had an amazing flat overlooking the sea. She was married to an Indian and had lived there for forty years. We had a really nice dinner there then she was kind enough to let me sleep on the sofa which i was really grateful for because mumbai is much more expensive then other places. She even arranged a taxi for me back to the airport early in the morning and made sure he didn't rip me off. The flight back was went fine. And i met Mum and Dad ok after they walked straight past me the first time and i had to go and tap them on the back!
i was expecting freezing cold but it hasn't been too bad so far.

I don't think i will be having many more exciting adventures til 2 months when we go to Hong Kong on the 25thMay, so there might be a long lull in blog entries.

Feel free to check occasionally but apples really aren't that interesting.
Lots of Love,
Joexxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb