Our weekend in Canterbury and London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Canterbury
January 10th 2006
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!!!
Well i suppose I better give you all the inside info on my teaching experience so far. It went like this in my first week: 1st day-Absolutely hated it!!!I came home telling Luke I hated it and questioning whether or not I was gonna be able to handle it for 6 months. The kids tried testing the water with me by being smart asses and the like, but I had to let them know I wasn't gonna take any crap (I gave out two lunchtimes and did a lot of evil staring etc). 2nd day-Much, much better. The kids must have taken the hint on the first day. 3rd day-even better.
With each day of teaching it seems to get better, except my year 10 class are up and down all the time (they gave me one of the lowest level classes out of the lot, my suspicion being that everyone else has had them and can't take it.)
I have my own classroom (which pretty much acts as your office) and we have a nig staffroom for everyone and a small english staffroom. We always hang around in the english staffroom during break cos our building is too far from the main one.
The teachers here sure like to yell!!! In uni we were trained not to take that kind of disciplinary action, but here that is all that seems to get through to some of the kids. Lucky I have a loud voice! I havne't gotten to the point where i have had to scream yet, which is good. The other thing is that the teachers here seem to not mind undermining you infront of your class, for example they will stick their head in and say "send such and such to me if they play up or you can't handle them" and they say things like this infront of the kids so you feel like an idiot or that makes the kids think your week. I haven't had to send anyone cos I am good at looking evil, but that may change.
Anyway, enough about that. On the weekend Luke and I took our new friend Mel to Canterbury and London. Mel is another timeplan teacher who we hope to get a semi-detached house with (including another timeplan girl called Lauren aswell-We were teasing Luke about living with 3 chicks but he has done it before!) We only really had the chance to walk down the main street, and let me tell you-Canterbury is packed, absolutely packed with shops and shopping. It killed me not to buy anything!!!! I was lucky enough to con Luke into buying me a pair of earrings for £2.50 from a oxfam shop, and in the end I paid for them cos he didn't have any cash on him!!! he he he.
We also visited the great Canterbury Cathedral. It was fasinating!!! So huge and so old. I took lots of pictures. However we couldn't get into the main Quire cos there was a service on, which was really disappointing.
On the sunday we went in to London and visited the Tower of London. Again, it was massive and very historical. There was so much to see, but after about 3 hours I was beginning to get bored. The knights armour was cool and the crown jewels.
After that we took a walk down oxford street where it killed me again to not be able to shop, and then we had a pizza dinner and headed home, dreading "School in the morning!!"
Anyway, Luke had an interview with a recruitment company Monday so hopefully something comes of that, and we are also waiting to hear about a semi-detached house that we put an application in for. It is really cool and painted in all pastel pinks, greens and purples.
Not much else to tell except Luke and I are heading to Brussels (Belgium) this weekend so he can get his visa stamped on the way back. We are going by Eurostar under the channel tunnel so there will be more pictures soon.
Missing you all, and let me tell you, I am definately hanging out for my first pay in my new pommy bank account!!!
Catch you later!!!
Renee and Luke



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Luke and I in Tower of LondonLuke and I in Tower of London
Luke and I in Tower of London

You can see the Tower bridge behind us


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb