D-5 Thursday the 8th of May, 2008


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Canterbury
May 15th 2008
Published: May 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1: Our GuidePhoto 1: Our GuidePhoto 1: Our Guide

This is Kate. She was our guide in London =).

Day 5: Thursday the 8th of May, 2008 - Ohhh boy… Here we go again…



This morning was actually different from the rest!(surprise!) I got up at 6:30 took a shower, got dressed up to 7 o’clock. Then I tried to wakeup my roommate because we were supposed to be at Vere Road at 8 o’clock sharp! Of course I failed to wake him up for the 1st time. So I went to eat breakfast with Thomas. Only after I was done I got him out of bed using the magical words: “Breakfast is on the table”. That was already like half past seven… After breakfast I brushed my teeth and got ready to go. Alberto went to take a shower (I do not know how he wanted to get ready in 30 minutes but ok…).
After much hassle and a lot of me telling him to hurry up, we left at 10 to 8 o’clock.

On our way there we met another group of students who were running late also, so we went together. It turns out over 70%!o(MISSING)f the students were late so I didn’t feel so ashamed of myself.

Photo 1: Our Guide
Photo 2: The PelicanPhoto 2: The PelicanPhoto 2: The Pelican

This is the domesticated Pelican in front of Buckingham Palace!

This is Kate. She was our guide in London. She was a very fun person to be around with because she always told us interesting things. I really liked her ;] . What’s there more to say? She’s a native speaker, never been to other countries(besides France, but who hasn’t been to France…?) but wants to go someday.

Photo 2/3: The Domesticated Pelican in front of Buckingham Palace.

Awwwww isn’t it cute? ;D It was a beautiful bird. I was really surprised that it didn’t fear humans and actually walked around us like we were of his kin. Little things like these make trips worthwhile ^^. I’m glad to see humans and animals living in peace.

Photo 4: The Buckingham Palace itself.

This is the Palace where the Queen (currently, Queen Elizabeth II) resides during the summer. The flag was up and waving in the wind. That means the Queen was currently at the residence. It has beautiful architecture and very nice gates. Originally the Palace was a Town hall, then a residence for noble people etc. and after that it because a summer residence for the Royal Family. It was built around the 18th century
Photo 3: Domesticated Pelican(#2)Photo 3: Domesticated Pelican(#2)Photo 3: Domesticated Pelican(#2)

Once again, a photo of the domesticated Pelican!!! It's so cute =D~!!!
for a duke.

Photo 5: A(nother) Monument, this time before the Buckingham Palace.

It’s called Victoria Memorial. What really caught my eye here, was the statue at the top. Besides the golden coloured statue at the top, there where normal coloured statues around the column (or at the feet of the golden statue). It was carved beautifully and placed on a magnificent column.

Photo 6: A garden in front of Buckingham Palace.

This is a garden in front of Buckingham Palace. It’s well taken care of, there are nice flowers planted there also. Of course it doesn’t even stand up to Belgium’s Carpet of Flowers every 4 years but it was still a nice sight to see.

After: We visited the British National Museum and we attended a musical called “We Will Rock You” at the Theatre in London on Oxford Street. I won’t lie. I was too lazy to take out my camera to shoot pictures… Overall the day was fun but tiring, I really liked the musical, it was great!!!. We got back home at around 1 o’clock A.M. and I started packing for tomorrow.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Photo 4: The Palace itselfPhoto 4: The Palace itself
Photo 4: The Palace itself

This is a photo of Buckingham Palace. I liked the gates very much.
Photo 5: A(nother) MonumentPhoto 5: A(nother) Monument
Photo 5: A(nother) Monument

This is Victoria Memorial which is in front of Buckingham Palace. I loved the sculptures.
Photo 6: A Garden in front of Buckingham PalacePhoto 6: A Garden in front of Buckingham Palace
Photo 6: A Garden in front of Buckingham Palace

This is one of many little gardens and grooves around Buckingham Palace. It's very well taken care of.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb