Day 0 - Sunday - Leaving On A Jet Plane


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hertfordshire
August 27th 2006
Published: December 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Got up mid-morning, and cooked scrambled eggs for myself and Laura - she was quite impressed - but was struggling to find an appetite from a combination of pre-flight nerves and stress of last night.

So, to cheer me up, we went to the cinema and saw "You, Me & Dupree" - very good by the way, if haven't seen it, do so - and then Laura took me shopping for underwear (for her, not me). You see, she "needed a man's opinion". Although what use I was I don't know, she just kept asking if I thought she'd look good in bras and panties, and I went all shy, as I do 😊 Actually I quite enjoyed it, took my mind off everything, although she refused point blank to actually model any of the items for me. . .

We went back to her flat, had Hollands steak and kidney pie, mash and veg - proper Norther English food! - then took the drive to London Heathrow. Said a bit of a teary goodbye to Laura (odd because I only see her once every month or so, but then she is one of my best friends) and then checked in. Extra controls on security mean huge queues so it took ages to get through, but made it eventually. At the departure lounge, I called Mum, and then the real tears started. It just hit me - I'm not actually going to see her for A YEAR! Am I mental? So I paced the lounge rapidly, trying not to break down and keep my voice level, and failing miserably! Said goodbye, then called my Dad Round 2, more tears, but with him calling me a daft sod and not to be so soft - he's all heart, really. No, really. Honest! Called my brother next, who said he'll miss me and advised me to stay clear of katoeys in Thailand. Cheers, Chris! A call to Ste, and my God-daughter Taylor, then last call to Douglas Avenue to say see-ya to my ex and her family (I know, that sounds odd, but if you knew me and the Grant's you'd understand). Spoke to Julie's dad and mum, then Julie herself - all these people I'm going to miss so much!

At the gate I met Louise and Carly, two girls who are going to India with the same company on the same volunteer tour I am - what a coincidence! Wasn't sitting next to them, but to a very nice Indian guy called Ashis, who's been studying in Durham and is going home to see his family. Now, I must say at this point I've never left Europe before. the only time I've flown has been Charter flights - absoultely bog standard. So I stepped onto the Virgin Atlantic flight, and even Economy class blew me away ("What, a TV at my seat? HOW much leg room? Why's the flight attendant being nice to me?") Then the drinks trolley came round.
Steward: Anything to drink Sir?
Me: Err . . .
Ashis: It's free . . .
Me: Whiskey and Coke please. What do you mean, which whiskey? Err, the good scotch, please! 😊


Ashis and I had a good chat on the flight, about anything and everything, helped by the eight or so drinks I had. I lost count. I couldn't believe you pressed a button and the man asked you what you wanted!

(Well, actually, there was one steward who, whenever I looked at him, was looking at me and smiling. Whenever I rang, he appeared . . . I'm sure I heard him elbow another steward out of the way at one point . . .anyway, by the end of the flight, I pressed and he arrived with a whiskey and asked if I wanted anything else, grinning inanely. Might've been the drink, but I think he winked more than once . . .)

Anyway, yeah . . . the flight was great. The plane wasn't packed so Ashis crashed out on the seats in front and I had 2 to myself at one point. Put on the headphones to have some music to get off to sleep and what should be playing, on the first second of the first track, but only Stone Roses by The Stone Roses, one of my favourite albums! Mr Branson, I love you!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb