Still Sick & Wanna Go Home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hertfordshire » Saint Albans
December 18th 2008
Published: January 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I managed to walk to the grocery store down the road to buy some medicine, and that has helped.

Today, I'm feeling much better, but I took the day off anyway just to make sure. I really don't want to be sick when I'm on vacation. I've been cooped up in my bedroom for the last three days.

Tomorrow is Friday, the last day of the school term. I've missed three days of work this week, so I'm going to be totally broke. Seriously.

Furthermore, I don't know what I was thinking when I booked my plane tickets home. I'll be home only for a week! (Actually, I know what I was thinking. I thought a week would be enough and that I could use the rest of my break to travel around the UK a little bit. I thought that since I won't have a car to drive at home, I'll be stuck at my mom's house, bored out of my mind for a week.)

But my family has told me that out of all of them, someone will let me borrow their car for the week. And even if they didn't, even if I was stuck in the same house for an entire week, I wouldn't care! I just want to be HOME!

I called the airlines to try to change my flights so I can be home longer, but there was nothing available. I'm going to try again tomorrow. Please, God, Jesus, please please help me get home sooner! Please give me a plane ticket home for Saturday or Sunday, please! I have to go home!

I'm sobbing into my pillow. I can't eat or sleep, even though it's one in the morning and I have to get up at six-thirty to go to work. I'm so homesick, I feel nauseous. I feel like I'm having a breakdown. I just want to go home! Please, God.

I miss America, I miss the south. I miss friendliness and manners, cornbread and fried chicken, the wide-open spaces and trees. I miss the lights on Broadway, the honky-tonks and dancing and barbeque. I long to be home. I'm craving that great country Obama talked about in his book, that country we all adore. And I'm so lucky that it's my home.

HOME. There's never been a sweeter word.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb