Marcle Ridge


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Herefordshire » Hereford
June 11th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Folks

The rain promised for later today has just arrived … good timing as I have had a day ‘on site’ airing my duvet and two sleeping bags, generally airing the tent and washing all my clothes. Needless to say this all takes a little longer than it would in a ‘normal’ residence. Perhaps not quite such a relaxing day as planned following a long cycle ride yesterday along the Wye Valley to the west of Hereford.

A few days ago I had a lovely walk - only about seven miles - along the Marcle Ridge a few miles to the south of the campsite. Those of you used to proper hills would not recognise this as a true ridge but we shall let that pass - suffice to say that unlike Striding Edge and many other arêtes you cannot be daring and put one leg in each valley !!!!! The views more than made up for this lack of excitement with the clear skies allowing a glimpse of the Black Hills in Wales.

Much of the ridge and indeed the surrounding landscape is wooded and where it has been cleared the agricultural landscape is one of mixed farming with arable and livestock. Inevitably the wildlife is not abundant but while walking across a meadow towards a wood I spied a family of three deer - well, I assume they were a family - grazing in the grass close to the woodland edge. I tried to approach undetected but I guess the sight of a blue sun hat bobbing up and down had them worried as they wandered off into the wood. Not one to be disheartened I figured I might take them by surprise if I circled through the wood and came up on their original position from the opposite direction. The head of the deer family obviously made a similar decision as a few minutes later we came face to face on a path alongside the woodland. Almost comical - the beast stopped looked at me, decided there was no danger and quietly returned whence he came after allowing me a photograph or two.

Apart from the deer rabbits and the grey squirrel abound and there are obviously badgers as I have seen a couple of roadside casualties. In the sky the buzzard is commonplace soaring on air currents with its rather mournful call. They seem relatively unconcerned by humans as I have on a few occasions seen them perched on telegraph poles - sadly they do not wait for me to take a picture. The aerial photo is the best I can come up with - will try to do better ….

Steve


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb