Build up!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire
July 12th 2012
Published: July 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

1st Blog - before my big trip! So, giving a blogging a quick go, kind of like an introduction, with the intention to update in airports before going to the next place (and to see how easy it is)!

So, I'm Dave, I'm 25 (soon to be 26), and going backpacking around the world! Heading off to Thailand week Monday - am I excited much? (Hella Yeah!!)

It all started feeling bit real last week, had my work leaving do last Friday (last actual date of work tomorrow) - going to be a bit weird not going there after seven years!! Then had a leaving do with friends and family on the Sat, and that was epic (lost my voice after the weekend for three days!) - still time to go for a few more nights out and football games before I go!

I have had all my injections over the course of a month - I feel I must be immortal now (I'm joking - I have boxes full of malaria tablets/pills to take!) - Also got a first aid kit, as I have a bad habit of stubbing my toe... (Have been through three toe nails in three years!! - sorry, but it’s true...)!

So far, have only booked the one flight to Thailand, and intending to stay there for a month (first week going with the tour group ThaIntro - mainly for peace of mind of having the first week sorted)! I'm definitely going to head to Full Moon Party (which I think is 4th August), and I fancy getting my PADI scuba diving done as well (looking at possibly the 2nd and 3rd weeks here) - I am actually a qualified diver with BSAC, but didn't get the qualification signed (yes, I feel stupid!), and then the final week in Thailand in Phuket/Phi Phi!!

After that, I'm looking at Vietnam (possibly via Cambodia).

In general, I have no set "plan" - but my idea/blueprint is as follows (will be interesting how it goes in reality)!


• Thailand (Part 1)
• Cambodia
• Vietnam
• Hong Kong
• Japan
• China
• Nepal
• Thailand (Part 2)
• Singapore
• Australia
• New Zealand
• Easter Island
• Chile
• Brazil
• Colombia
• US of A



I have my working holiday visa approved for Oz, and current plan is to be there by Jan (though, I have till June next year to get there, so no rush)!

So, time scale wise, I'm looking at six months-ish to get to Oz, one year in Oz (working nine months, and travelling Oz for three, probably including New Zealand), then six months coming home doing South and North America!

I think I can get a visa for most of these countries upon arrival (apart from China, but I intend to get that in Hong Kong)! For the America's, I'll check them out when in Oz!

Next week is doing some clothes buying, and trying to be realistic as to what I actually need, so will think about that (do want to get a kindle though!!)

Also, need to sort out the little paper work bits - had no idea UK driving licenses expire after 10 years, so sorting that out, as well as an international driving licence!

(Hmmm, going to have a hunt around for a pdf check list online - reckon I'm going to miss something, won't be a toothbrush though, I'm going to take two!!)

Anyways, must go - last day at work tomorrow!!

Much love

Dave x

(PS - these are just a couple of pics from the leaving doo on Sat!)

Advertisement



13th July 2012

funny
We will see how it goes, I will Definitely keep checking the blog

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb