Southampton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Southampton
May 31st 2007
Published: May 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Back in Southampton Again 😊 I'm finally getting the hang of changing trains 5 times to go 100 miles. And I've started looking up at the board to see, not if the train is on time, but just how late it will be. It started to stress me out at first because if my first train is late, I may miss my next one, the one after that, and so on. But all the trains here are late so the system works quite well 😊

The first evening I went out to dinner with Paul's friends that we're going to Glastonbury with. They were there in 2005 when it flooded, so it was good to get some advice about what to pack. Hopefully their horror stories have prepared me for the worst and I'll have a great time there.

The second day was spent hunting for squirrels in the New Forest, about 15 minutes from Paul's place. I don't really know what I expected the forest to look like, but it was beautiful. Greener than anything I've ever seen. It was full of wild horses and when we got there it stopped raining and the sun came out. We played 'Poo Sticks' (as in Winnie The Poo). Which is throwing two sticks over a bridge into the stream, and the stick that gets to end first wins... Very exciting for the first two minutes, but it kinda got a bit boring after a while... Especially when the competition is bad and I keep winning 😊

After a while in the forest we went to the Beaulieu Pub. A beautiful old pub set in the middle of the forest with a red telephone box out the front and a beer garden full of rabbits out the back. I had my first taste of warm ale. It's actually quite nice, easy to drink and you don't realise how strong it is. We spent the afternoon playing pool. I'm not going to comment on the first few games, but I almost won the last one 😊

The next day was back to Bushey... In the rain again 😊





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

New ForestNew Forest
New Forest

My stick winning... yay
New ForestNew Forest
New Forest

Paul stuck in the mud... haha
New ForestNew Forest
New Forest

Wild horses
New ForestNew Forest
New Forest

The Beaulieu Pub


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb