Spinnaker Tower, Portsmouth


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Portsmouth
March 9th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Links to re-add after travelblog database malfunction

As I celebrate my 21st birthday (again and again!), I wonder - where will I be next year?

After a relaxing time having my hair cut in Simon Andrew (Bedford Place), I headed off to Whiteley Village , and then onto Gunwharf Quays to check out hiking boots and backpacks, sleeping bags, clothing, etc. Didn't buy anything as brain wasn't really in the right mode, so decided to visit the Spinnaker Tower whilst in Portsmouth. Weather was so lovely thought it was worth the nearly £6 entry fee (although not the £10 for a blue screen photo when you walk in the door!!) - and the views were amazing. Exterior lift is still not functional, so it was up the interior lift (probably preferable for me!) to the first (and largest) floor, which has views on 3 sides over Fawley, towards the Isle of Wight, and back over Portsmouth. In the middle is the glass floor, over which you are encouraged to walk (minus shoes), but although I thought that I had got over my fear of heights with skiing, I just couldn't get my brain to allow my foot over it...
What a view...What a view...What a view...

from the Spinnaker Tower
although I knew that it had the same strength as the rest of the floor - as you can see children had NO problems though! Stayed up there for 40 minutes or so enjoying the views, then decided better get back and prepare dinner!

Had been looking forward to a chilled evening with friends and some sausage and mash all week, so it was a really nice chilled evening - great company - great food (I may have bought it but thanks to Kate who prepared most of it!), and I just enjoyed it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Do you dare?Do you dare?
Do you dare?

This is as far as I dared!
ImpressiveImpressive
Impressive

picked a good day for it too!
The initial viewThe initial view
The initial view

that attracted me in!
JonJon
Jon

More sausages anyone?


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb