Revealed: the reason we stopped travelling...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Portsmouth
November 9th 2006
Published: November 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In developmentIn developmentIn development

13 weeks old, ultrasound from 24 October - due date in early May
So no, we didn't run out of funds, I discovered that I was expecting a bambino within the first couple of weeks of arriving in Buenos Aires.

Not sure what to expect, we headed to the pharmacy to get a home test... and there is no such thing as being a little bit pregnant! I am - we are - happily expecting. So after the positive home test it was a frantic search for an OB-GYN - I was referred to an excellent one called Dr. Pero (accent over the o) and he took very good care of me, the foetus and Sean. Did a blood test to confirm pregnancy had two sonograms one at eight weeks when the foetus was the size of a bean and the other at 12 weeks which as you can see he/she is looking very good in fetal position and just 8cm (3 inches)!

Hearing the baby's heart beat is always a joy and I'm greatful that Sean and I got to do this on at least four occasions before returning to England.

Now in England I had my first consultation with my GP and should be meeting my midwife soon.
lovely day for a walklovely day for a walklovely day for a walk

through San Telmo, the Candem of Buenos Aires

Sean has been back to running every morning to begin his day right and be as productive as can be in a day. I'm mostly taking it easy doing my best to get my five fruits and veggies in every day and drinking loads more water than I thought imaginable. Will also be volunteering with the local Blind Centre once a week, looking for a swim suit to begin swimming (hoping to get three visits a week in) and in search of a guitar instructor!

As always love hugs and happiness to you and yours!

(CHECK OUT THE COMMENTS)

Advertisement



10th November 2006

Fantastic news!
Nice one Esther! I thought Sean would be as sterile as a nuclear reactor core by now, with his poor diet of boiled sweets and full-fat coke. Looking forward to see you both soon.
10th November 2006

bonkers!
Congratulations chaps, see you soon ....
10th November 2006

Congratulations!!!!
Read most of ur blogs so far, lovely the baby's pic..thx for sharing with us and all the best to ur larger family..:)..Take care of urself and this will be a life journey it self for sure...
10th November 2006

Congratulations!
That's wonderful news. I confess, I thought the reason might be something like that...
10th November 2006

thanks matt
we are vry happy indeed - how is all with you? say hello to sinead . maybe we'll be able to catch up sometime either in London or pompey??
10th November 2006

Felicidades!
Congrat prima to you and your hubby. As you know, we are also expecting a baby due end of March. Next week we will have a sonogram an determine whether the baby will be a girl or a boy. Jesus
11th November 2006

Nice one
Excellent work Sean and Ester - the cold weather finally got you two to stay indoors for a while. We have a kid on the way too, due in January... so great timing! Looking forward to seeing you, but hoping you are off the brussel sprouts and cabbage diet by then...
11th November 2006

Im sooooo happy for you guys! My mom jumped out of her chair.Best wishes with you and your family.I miss you esther lots. I think about you all the time.I've been waiting for this news for sometime now.Glad to hear that your doing good.You'll be such awsome parents.Tell sean congrats from all the Rojo family here and your always in our prayers.
12th November 2006

Congratulations
Wonderful news! Joy, good fortune to you all. Ultra sound pics are fantastic, send more.
12th November 2006

Dear Esther and Sean, Congratulations on the fantastic news of the new baby! Great to know you are both keeping well. Enjoy the months ahead, take care, anne marie (lisbon)
13th November 2006

HEY THERE ESTHER!! WELL CONGRADULATIONS!! I HOPE YOU AND SEAN COME BACK TO THE U.S AS SOON AS THAT BABY IS BORN I WOULD LOVE TO SEE HIM/HER!! TAKE CARE!! LOVE YOU BOTH!! -ERICA....
14th November 2006

Congratulations!
Yay! That's awesome Sean and Esther! Susan and I wish you both our best. Chris
14th November 2006

Congratulations!
When I heard you'd stopped traveling, that was my first thought. Much love and best wishes. Wish you could come for a visit. Oda was just here from Dublin for a few days. Last Saturday was olive picking day at Liz's. Deanna
30th November 2006

congratulations! let's meet up!
We are so excited for you! As you may know we have a new arrival, Mae (b 5 Sept). Let's meet up. Love to you all.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb