Relaxing at Old Thorns


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Alton
September 17th 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It’s my first day in England - a business destination that will be mixed with a little pleasure. I am here for customer golf! The customer arranged for a taxi (BMW 520 for taxi?) from Airport Direct to pick us up (traveling with Po and Anne) at Heathrow. Within seconds, I recognized the driver’s accent. Sure enough, he is from Scotland … Gourock of all places. I used to spend a lot of time in Greenock, Gourock and Largs. So I had a nice chat with him as we headed southwest on Highway A3. He is a Celtics supporter and so not surprisingly, he does not know the most famous Scots out of Gourock - David Pickett.

Forty five minutes or so into our journey, the taxi took Griggs Green exit off A3 toward Liphook and within minutes, we saw the entrance to Old Thorns Hotel Golf & Country Estate. Old Thorns is nestled in 400 acres of rolling Hampshire countryside. Originally a 17th century farmhouse, it retains much of its original charm. Unfortunately, we could see the housing development creeping up as we drove towards the hotel.

As we got off the taxi, we realized we were far from any villages or cities. I was standing on top of a small hill and I couldn’t see much other than trees and rolling hills. The girl at the front desk confirmed our suspicion. Old Thorns is a golfing destination and there is nothing much around us. We can walk to the village of Liphook - 15 minutes away or so - but there is nothing there except for a few shops. The hotel, however, has a heated indoor swimming pool, health spa and tennis court. The room has modern amenities such as flat screen TV and free wi fi.

After checking in, we headed to The Greenview Restaurant for our belated lunch. We got a corner table overlooking the 18th green. I pointed to Po a little later that I observed 2 groups already and each one of them was able to hit the green. But the most important observation - don’t hit a hook unless you want to break the windows at the restaurant. That is a good reminder for tomorrow.

I ordered Penne Carbonara and it was OK - too greasy. I ordered hot tea to wash it off. Anne ordered this black bream fish
Old Thorns Golf CourseOld Thorns Golf CourseOld Thorns Golf Course

Mature trees and rolling hills
and it looked great. I figure I have a lot more meals coming up at this restaurant. Old Thorns is our home for the next 2 nights and like it or not, we are staying home!

I walked around the hotel after lunch to take pictures. It is a warm overcast day and there were quite a number of golfers - I hope I have this weather for our golf game tomorrow. With nothing else to do, I returned back to my room to write this travel blog. I know somebody back home in USA is waiting for it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Old Thorns Hotel entranceOld Thorns Hotel entrance
Old Thorns Hotel entrance

17th century charm with modern amenities


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb