Welcome back!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Manchester
August 21st 2012
Published: August 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello again!

It's been a few years since I last posted on this blog. In the meantime, me and my girlfriend Rachael have somehow managed to scrimp and save enough to do it all over again - this time in South America.

I've always wanted to visit South America. From history and culture to wine and football, so many things seem to draw me towards that part of the world. Over the course of the next six months (money permitting), I'll be exploring all of the above and hopefully a good deal more besides.

The plan as it stands is to visit six countries - Peru, Bolivia, Chile, Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil - although you can get a more detailed idea of where we're heading by checking out our South America travel map. I'm limiting myself to one post per country so you don't need to worry about getting swamped with updates. And there'll be plenty of photos in each post too, although they may take a bit longer to upload - backpacking internet cafes are generally atrocious.

Oh, if you found me via an email alert, I should probably explain. Once again, I've invited friends and family based on who's expressed an interest or who I think might be interested. And once again, I'm sure I'll have got this wrong in some cases. So if you'd like to be added or removed from the mailing list, just drop me a message and I'll get it sorted.

Also, feel free to post a comment if you've got any thoughts or travel suggestions over the next few months - all advice gratefully received!

Right, that's all for now. Here's hoping you find the blog interesting.

See you soon,

Richard

Advertisement



22nd August 2012

Hello, from you first TravelBlog follower! :)
''...if you've got any thoughts or travel suggestions...'' I loved Punta del Diablo, when I was in Uruguay. I recommend it, if you like the idea of a little fishing village by the sea. It has still got what is good about a remote place, but with some fairly recently added backpacker comfort, such as hostels and a few restaurants(or more accurately, shacks that serve food). The hostels are right by the sea and most/all have lovely views from many of their windows. http://www.travelblog.org/South-America/blog-457996.html
28th August 2012

Thanks
Hi Mell, Many thanks for the recommendation - Punta del Diablo sounds lovely. Really hope we can fit it in! Cheers, Richard
27th August 2012

Hello!
Hello to you both, how very exciting! I love South America and had such a good time there. I would agree with your other friend who commented that Punta del diablo is worth a visit. It was a bit tricky to get there and involved a a mile or so of walking to get there as the bus didn't actually go to the town at that point (I'm sure it does now!) but felt much more like I'd earned the lovely beaches. Lake Titicaca between Peru and Bolivia was lovely and interesting too with the various floating islands. We stayed on one of the islands for the night with some locals which was entertaining! There's tons of places I could mention, I've been to each of the countries you are visiting at some point or another and so am very excited for you! I'll try and work out when you are in each country so can give you relevant information at the right time rather than just rambling generally! Have an amazing time, Anna x
28th August 2012

Following in your footsteps...
Hey Anna, Lovely to hear from you :) We´re in Lima at the moment - only landed a couple of days ago so haven´t done much exploring yet. I remember you planning that route around South America, doesn´t seem long ago at all. In fact, I think hearing you talk about all your destinations helped inspire this trip! To be honest, I´ve not heard about Punta del Diablo before but will definitely look into it now you´ve given it the thumbs-up. We´ll be going to Lake Titicaca at the end of September. Before that, we´ve got the rest of Peru to explore so maybe Pisco, Ica, Nazca, Arequipa, Cuzco & Park Manu. Let us know if there´s anything absolutely unmissable - if you liked it, we´ll probably enjoy it too! Stay in touch, Richard

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb