Manchester Airport - computer says no!


Advertisement
Published: August 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

So how hard is it to get to Manchester? In Lou's world just travelling 70 miles from Harrogate & arriving at my first hotel has been a challenge!


I eventually finished packing at some late hour last night & tomorrow I'll find out how heavy this case is! My theory is that if I can lift up the case, it's less than 23kg! Although the twinge in my back is probably telling me 1) it's not that far off 23kg and 2) not only should have gone to the gym to lose weight but also build up the necessary muscles to carry my luggage thousands of miles around the world! I decided that humping bags on & off trains was not going to be fun so resorted to a man & a taxi to make the first leg as easy as possible.

The train from Leeds to Manchester went pretty smoothly with no incidents to report. The next challenge was to find the courtsey bus from Manchester station to Bewleys hotel. Even with a map & 3 basic instructions I failed at the first hurdle & couldn't even find the bus stop! After rambling around looking lost the bus appeared from no where so hopped on! (Claire - for your trip I think you have to book the bus & call 3090 from some courtsey phone near the information desk which I couldn't even find!)

So I arrive at the hotel, greet the receptionist (who I noticed must have tattooed her eyebrows on...not a nice look) & give the name of "Varlow". They certainly find a Varlow on the system......"C Varlow"...my sister who is booked in 2 weeks time.....no Helen Louise Varlow! Now how many of us have that sick feeling that this isn't going to turn out well even though you booked & paid for it months ago! I try to reassure myself that this is a computer error after reading the numerous posters around reception that they have just implemented a new system last week! Following our transition to SAP, I try to be positive & think maybe the migration of bookings hasn't quite worked!! After 10 minutes of the receptionist & her team leader going through the computer system they agree the computer says no reservation! Now this part of my trip was actually quite organised & booked back in April!!!! All I can say is I'm glad I brought a print out of my expedia booking which they agreed to process a room for me!!!

So I'm eventually checked in & time to chill out as it's an early start tomorrow morning. The courtsey bus which I shouldn't miss as it's just outside the front door is picking me up at 6.15am. I haven't been up this early for months so have 4 alarm calls set to make sure I don't sleep in!!

Now over the next 6 weeks you'll probably start to notice that food is very important in my life & will be reporting on the number of chips...oops fries, steaks, cheesecakes & starbucks hot chocolates with extra cream I'll be going through!! Now not to sound boring but can I just say The Brasserie Restaurant at the Bewleys Hotel is REALLY GOOD!!! Now most airport hotels you expect low quality / high price food but I've just had the best meal for weeks!!
Starters - Irish Goats Cheese & Almond Salad (almonds actually work quite well)
Main - Roast Beef dinner (huge Yorkshire pud, mash & roast tatties, 3 veg & lush beef!)
Dessert - Dark Chocolate Cheesecake + vanilla ice cream
washed down with a lovely glass of red wine chilean Merlot....wait for it ...all for £25!

(Claire - even though they have your reservation take a a copy along!! You probably won't like the Brasserie but the bar food looked nice too!)

Anyway - off to bed now. Flying at 9.30am tomorrow Manchester to New York (8 hours) and then NYC to Denver (6 hours) so a long day. I hope the transfers go OK as I have pick up my luggage, recheck in at a different terminal etc.....and are panicking I haven't filled in all the right US immigration forms in!!! Fingers crossed everyone they let me into the country otherwise this will be a short trip!!

Hopefully I'll be next writing to you in Denver!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb