Day 8 - Cricket


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Visited my old work locations at MWH in Warrington and Biwater in Heywood today. I was surprised by how many people though we had been away from England for a year or two when it is exactly three years since we had left. I think I need to be a little less gushing about how great Australia is as most people I speak seem to be keen to jump on the plane once I have told them a bit about it. I did speak to a couple of people about specifically working in Melbourne so it will be interesting to see what happens there.

We had to split up today to cover different groups of old friends and kids with old school mates. It was a busy hectic time but the only way we could try to cover the ground of seeing the largest number of people on this trip on one of our shorter stops. Better that than the alternative of losing touch with people I guess and luckily everyone was really accommodating to fit our tight schedule.

I managed to take a trip to the real Old Trafford to watch Lancashire play a Twenty20 cricket match. It was an original 'War of the Roses' against bitter rivals Yorkshire and it was the white rose that came up trumps. I certainly wasn't impressed with the general standard of fielding and the two England stars Vaughan and Flintoff failed to register a run between them. I guess the jury is still out for me on the English county cricket scene.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb