Snow in Walthamstow!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
February 2nd 2009
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Piling up01 Piling up01 Piling up

It had been snowing for 12 hours at this stage and the snow was piling up high.
Geo: 51.5002, -0.126236

I woke up this morning to a bright room- not usual for this time of year at all. I knew it because it had been snowing. I looked out the window and was very excited to see everything covered in snow! Got ready for work as usual and quicker than normal so I would have time to take some photos before catching the bus. I left for work and had walked no more than 5 metres and my jeans and shoes were already saturated, so went back home and got a change of shoes, socks and jeans and headed back towards the bus stop.

The main road was unusually quiet, the few cars about were going very slow and there were many people walking. The electronic countdown at the bus stop said that there were no bus services this morning. I contemplated walking to work, but in these conditions- it would take me ages. So I made a few calls and the word from the boss was that school is closed!! The news made my day. I went home and had a hot drink while watching the news and discovering that there was no public transport today and most
02 Backyard02 Backyard02 Backyard

My little backyard.
schools were closed-it was the biggest snowfall for 18 years. Then took many photos in the backyard.

It was so beautiful watching the snow fall and pile up. I didn't want to stay indoors, so I walked to the local park- Llyod's Park and took more photos. People were enjoying the snow- throwing snowballs, making snowmen and riding tobaggons. I had a fantastic day and hoped for more snow so that school would be closed again tomorrow! I got more good news later in the afternoon from my head teacher, that school is closed again tomorrow! Later that night on the news there were many stories about London not being able to cope with a snowfall- some people need to relax and enjoy the snow! 6 million people couldn't get to work today and had a longer weekend- I'm sure none of them complained.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

03 Piling up03 Piling up
03 Piling up

The snow on the pegs thing.
04 Snow04 Snow
04 Snow

The snow on the tree in the backyard.
05 Neighbours05 Neighbours
05 Neighbours

The neighbours backyards.
06 Covered branches06 Covered branches
06 Covered branches

Branches covered in snow.
07 Snow07 Snow
07 Snow

More snow on the leaves.
08 Snow08 Snow
08 Snow

Lots and lots of snow.
09 First sign of spring09 First sign of spring
09 First sign of spring

Pink buds covered in snow.
10 My street10 My street
10 My street

My snow covered street.
11 Walking to work11 Walking to work
11 Walking to work

This poor guy is walking to work.
12 Lloyd Park12 Lloyd Park
12 Lloyd Park

A few autumn leaves?
13 Lloyd Park13 Lloyd Park
13 Lloyd Park

One of the many areas of the park.
14 Lloyd Park14 Lloyd Park
14 Lloyd Park

Pine tree.
15 Lloyd Park15 Lloyd Park
15 Lloyd Park

White branches.
16 Lloyd Park16 Lloyd Park
16 Lloyd Park

The iced creek.
17 Lloyd Park17 Lloyd Park
17 Lloyd Park

The creek.
18 Lloyd Park18 Lloyd Park
18 Lloyd Park

The creek.
19 Lloyd Park19 Lloyd Park
19 Lloyd Park

A red sign peeking out amongst the white.
20 Lloyd Park20 Lloyd Park
20 Lloyd Park

The basketball courts.
21 Lloyd Park21 Lloyd Park
21 Lloyd Park

The open space of the park.


Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb