Walking Here, There and Everywhere


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
February 27th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Fountain01 Fountain01 Fountain

One of the two fountains in Trafalgar Square and a couple of iconic red buses behind it.
Geo: 51.5002, -0.126236

I went into London today. Travelling around was get much easier now. Again I caught the train to central London and then changed onto the underground tube network and got off at Chancery Lane. Today I had to open a bank account with HSBC for when I start working later on in the year. It was quite a quick and easy process, now it was time to do some more sightseeing.

Then I decided to walk to Leicester Square. I walked in the wrong direction and ended up at Oxford Circus. Oxford Circus is on the well-known shopping street of Oxford St. It was very busy at Oxford Circus and I was overwhelmed, so I went underground. I caught the tube to Trafalgar Square, in hindsight, it would have been quicker to walk and this would have helped me get my bearings, as these places are so close to each other.

Trafalgar Square a nice, large square with two fountains that have very blue water. The National Gallery is also located in this square. In the middle there is Nelson's Column. Admiral Nelson died fighting against Napoleon at the Battle of Trafalgar, that's what my guide book says. It
02 Nelson's Column02 Nelson's Column02 Nelson's Column

The tall column in Trafalgar Square.
is a tall column surrounded by 4 lions. As I take a photo of the square I notice Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament straight ahead in the distance. So that was my next destination. As I walked down Whitehall, I came to Downing St where the Prime Minister lives. At the end of the street there is a big gate with guards and guns, so I couldn't see his front door, number 10. On the other side of the road, between two buildings I noticed the London Eye, which is on the other side of the river. I was starting to now realise how close the main attractions are to each other. I then came to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. At one of the entrances there was a man with a big machine gun. It looked fake, but I'm sure it was real. This is quite an impressive and decorative building.

I took a few photos of the building and then walked back up Whitehall. This time there was a small crowd at
03 In the Distance03 In the Distance03 In the Distance

Big Ben is visible in the distance.
the entrance to Downing St. Again I walked through Trafalgar Square and then caught the tube to overland station to caught a train back to Redhill.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

04 Admiralty Arch04 Admiralty Arch
04 Admiralty Arch

Go through the arches and this will lead you to Buckingham Palace.
05 Black Cab05 Black Cab
05 Black Cab

Another iconic sight in this city is the black cab.
06 Whitehall06 Whitehall
06 Whitehall

Cars driving along Whitehall as I walk towards the Houses of Parliament.
07 London Eye07 London Eye
07 London Eye

The London Eye as seen on my walk along Whitehall.
08 Big Ben08 Big Ben
08 Big Ben

Ben Ben - the name of the clock at the top of the tower.
09 Protected09 Protected
09 Protected

Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament are protected by this fence.
10 Big Ben10 Big Ben
10 Big Ben

Big Ben - the shiny gold clock.
11 Downing St11 Downing St
11 Downing St

Security at the entrance to Downing St - the home of the Prime Minister.
12 Base12 Base
12 Base

Lions at the base of Nelson's Column.
13 Column13 Column
13 Column

Another view of Nelson's Column.


Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb