National Gallery


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 6th 2006
Published: October 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I went to the National Gallery in London for my Art History class.





I didn't take many pictures that day.

I liked the art though. You can see the paintings on the National Gallery website.

The paintings were interesting to see in person. Lots of them, while being very familiar and recognizable, were much different in size than what you would imagine from looking at them in textbooks or online.

I got to see The Ambassadors up close and stand to the right of it so I could see the image of the skull. (the painting was originally on a wall next to stairs, so people would see it on their right has they were going down them).

I also saw Botticelli's Mystic Nativity, which I ended up choosing as the subject of my Art History midterm paper.





----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Afterwards we went nextdoor to a restaurant at the top of the National Portrait Gallery, which overlooks Trafalgar Square.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb