Learning to duck and checking out Churchill's quaint little country cottage with the fabulous Liz and Steve!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 23rd 2015
Published: October 25th 2015
Edit Blog Post

FINALLY! WiFi and something to say:bit of a relief, really.

Picture 1: a complete screw up by the photographer.



Two of our fabulous Queen Mary friends, Steve and Liz from Southampton drove up this morning to meet us at the B andB in Windsor. They arrived on time, catching Susan and me both in our dressing gowns. You see, we gave ourselves a bit of a rough night and, no, not the way you were thinking. Shame on you.

We were betrayed by that great British temptaton, afternoon tea. After a tour of the fascinating Windsor castle - highlights for Susan, the amazing vistas and the poignancy of seeing the little tomb chapel for George VI, the Queen Mum and Princess Margaret; for me, the practically unnoticed wall painting portrait of Edward III which is just before the exit in the east porch of the royal chapel. It is perhaps six and a half feet off the ground and set off in a little frame. Most people don't evem glance at it.

It was painted in 1240. It has little remarkable about it artistically. It is also almost 800 years old. It moved and impressed me.

We also spotted, on one of the staircases in the semi-state apartments, the colours of a regiment that I had never heard of: the Prince of Wales Leinster Royal Canadians, with a list of battle honours that included service in World War I.Leinster is the Irish province that includes Dublin. What istheir connection to Canada?

Oh, and the point? After all that history, we simply had to have high tea now, didn't we?

Except we don't normally have caffeine after lunch, do we? Several pounds of scones with clotted cream and jam, washed down with about a pint of tea later, we vibrate out of the tea room and shake our way back to the room.

There, wandering around with my Ipad tring to get the internet connection to work - head bent, staring at the screen, I am suddenly reminded that the doorway into our bedroom is five feet, four inches high. Even with bent head, I am five feet, six inches high.

I blame the tea, really I do. The good news comes in three parts: one, I did not actually hurt myself;, two, the bright red mark on my forehead makes me look more interesting (kind of like someone who has unsuccessfully attempted to brain surgery on himself); and, three, I have now learned when to duck.

P2: Grounds of Blenheim Palace

Which is just as well because the tea kept us from sleeping well so I was back and forth between the lounge and the bedroom somewhat more than I had antiicipated.

Great dinner at the Greene Oak gastropub (Michelin listed in 2013; still pretty damn' good now). Oven roasted sea bream for Susan, baked momkfish for me. Both brilliantl presented. Bream on a bed of lentils, skin crisped to perfection, charred broccoli. Monkfish with a mussel "pepperade", Israeli (large-grained) couscous and something called "cavolo nero", which turns out to be a dark green cabbage with a very mild flavor and a lovely crunch to it. The balance of flavours on both was superb. Beautifully done. We are going back tonight for dinner with Liz and Steve.



P3 A table setting at Blenheim - sideways, Note: no extra charge for trick photography.

P4: The amazing Steve and Liz with Susan

Not only did they drive up two hours from Southampton just to visit for a day and evening with us, they also suggested we should go see Blenheim Palace, traditional home of the Spenser /Churchill family. Nice little country hideaway, I don't think. Special display on there now to Steve's hero, Winston Churchill. It was tremendously impressive and the grounds are stunning. I shall now stretch the limits of my technical abiliites and try to attach some pictures of same. Wish me luck!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.368s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb