Blackheath Hockey Club


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 11th 2005
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hockey JessHockey JessHockey Jess

My legs aren't really that short are they?
You may not know it but I am now a hockey superstar. Well OK, not a superstar exactly, but I participate with vigour and I did win the coveted stuffed toy donkey award for best on ground one week - not bad for a loser who didn't know the rules at the start of the season. I don't think my dream of Beijing 2008 gold medal glory is exactly on track but I'm having fun nonetheless. I play for the mighty Blackheath Ladies 4th XI (see, my name on the site proves I play) and while we didn't achieve great success we avoided relegation to Kent League Division 8 - actually I'm not sure if it goes that low.

Summer hockey starts next week and the idea of playing in temperatures over five degrees and having no training that can be stopped by snow is a good one. Plus the games are at the home ground that has a nice bar - handy for quenching the thirst that summer brings.

I might be playing cricket over the summer too - watch out for the name of Collingwood in the next women's world cup...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Snow TrainingSnow Training
Snow Training

Bad photo because it's from a phone camera but you get the gist. Snow. Yes, snow. At training. Hmmm.... I'm mad.


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb