So many things I love about London Heathrow International Airport


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 1st 2015
Published: March 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Here I sit in Heathrow International Airport, Terminal 2 - after flying all night from London, Canada - and I am actually enjoying every moment of being here. (I really did feel like I was entering the Twilight Zone though - having started the journey in London, Ontario - check out the photos - the airport was so empty......and then on to Pearson International in Toronto and, again, ......no one around ......so weird!)



As I was writing this on Sunday, I was sitting in a lovely, Italian café, enjoying a latte and skyping with Jade (in Lithuania) - as we figure out how to upload photos for the travel blog. There is fabulous French music playing in the background.......the latte (while not Starbucks) was yummy (reminding me of the fabulous time in Rome last year with Linda Claire Puig!!) -



There are usb ports everywhere for charging my phone - I love that!!!! There's one right under the chair where I am sitting in this café! Fabulous and so convenient.

I love that there are also opportunities to go to the spa, 'rent' a bed for a few hours (I was tempted, LOL), and the shopping - oh my! The shopping! I am not a shopper, by any means, but I am tempted while here, that's for sure.



Also, there is a distinct LACK of very loud, and annoying announcements over the P.S. system. Instead, everyone must take personal responsibility for their flights and either check the boards and/or just go to the Information booth attendance. Larry Winget would love this! Taking responsibility! Wow - what a concept. It just makes for a very peaceful, calm and pleasant experience here and I really like it. It's fascinating. And very civilized!

This is a bit of a different blog post but, having travelled around the world a few times now, I must give a big public shout-out to Heathrow. Well done! Indeed - well done (even though there is NO Starbuck in sight - but I've already tweeted them about that 😊 )

Ok - time to go find my gate and get ready for the next flight - on to Johannesburg where I will be meeting up with the rest of my group (most of whom flew out of Atlanta). I am the only Canadian on this trip again (and thank you to those who expressed interest in my safety - I AM with a group - and have a guide - and all is well).

Oh lookee here - at the boarding gate for my flight to J'Burg .......a Ben & Jerry's vending machine. My friends! Where have you been???? Life is so good.

Stay tuned- more to come. Am enjoying the comments posted by some of you already. Thanks for travelling along with me. (and always be sure to scroll down to see more photos .....)

Much love,

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



2nd March 2015

Heathrow is Tops
Love the restaurants and the wonderful shops, even though I am not a shopper - I agree with your comment Pat - I love to look at shops with beautiful stuff to sell. Last time I was in Heathrow Airport, I had the most delicious breakfast at a French bistro... so civilized! Latte, croissant, delicious butter and orange marmelade. Enjoy the trip to South Africa, at least you are on the same time. Besitos, Gitte
2nd March 2015

Hey if I haven't....
...yep, if I haven't found a way yet to get back on the road myself - then in the meantime nothing wrong with letting you, especially you with your enthusiasm - let me do it vicariously. I love London. At one time, I had visited enough times to begin to feel like it was a second home. And people in the U.K. are not like the stereotype of not expressing their emotions - I found everyone I encountered as kind, helpful, engaging....thanks for letting us take the journey with you! You are contagious..... or is it traveling? Okay, it's both.... :-)
2nd March 2015

A civilized airport
A civilized airport? THAT is something else. I would have killed every spare moment at the spa :)
2nd March 2015

No loud announcements via PA system
I love the thought of no announcements and creating a sense of personal responsibility! Thanks for sharing this wonderful experience. I will get to LHR soon to experience. Enjoy your trip.
2nd March 2015

always a good time B and J
Safe travels!
3rd March 2015

What I love about London Heathrow International Airport
Hi Pat, you reminded me of my time in Heathrow a year and a bit ago. I was also very impressed with the shopping, the feel, the size, the way it is linked to the city's core by rail. (Must admit it was very far from empty when I was there.) But, right now ... my favourite thing about it is that it's taking such good care of you.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 21; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb