Few days left in London.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 29th 2006
Published: August 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

TreeTreeTree

Cool tree in the park
Right, it's been a few days since I added an entry, I haven't really had much of a chance to get into the internet cafe in the last week or so. Just a reminder that if you subscribe to this it sends you an email when I make an update, I don't think it sends any other junk.
Well I've done a few cool things in the last while. The weather has been up and down, but luckly enough up that I've managed to get to a few parks. The parks in London are really great, it makes you feel like you're actually out of the city, apart from the number of people! But even then you can always find a nice quiet spot under a tree or something. Yesterday I went to Greenwich and visited the Maritime Museum, it wasn't actually that great, pretty small and I thought there could have been a hell of alot of more interesting things, 80% of it was about the explorers who found NZ and passengers on ships. We had planned on then heading to the Greenwich dateline thing which is apparently up some hill or something, but I was pretty knackered by then
Marina in the parkMarina in the parkMarina in the park

Title sums it up pretty well.
and there was still Chinatown on the schedule so we flagged that and went into the city to chinatown, which smelled great! But other than that wasn't all that flash.

I had a great night on Saturday. There was a big music festival thing called South West Four on during the day with lots of DJs and such. I didn't go to that as it cost £30, but there was an afterparty at a place called Brixton Academy (http://www.brixton-academy.co.uk) and this time another of my flatmates could get people onto the guest list! We rocked up about 11pm and the main queue had to be seriously 100m long, it was fucken huge. We went to the guest list and there was a large queue there also, it took us about 45 minutes to get in! I hate to think how long it took from the main line. Bonus was of course that not only were we in quicker but it didn't cost us the £25 to get in! JUST to get in was £25. Yikes. Anyway, the place was amazing, really great venue, one huge main dance floor and a few smaller ones with different types of music. We
SquirelSquirelSquirel

These little guys are everwhere, not quite sure what he's planning on doing with all the crap in his mouth.
met up with a couple of my flatmates and had a dance and drinks and ahem, 'other stuff'. I had such a great night. Because everyone is on drugs, everyone is really friendly, there was no agro at all, we spent about 3 hours just sitting at a bench talking and meeting people. There were some really great DJs as well, one called Judge Jules especially empressed me and was the last to play. We ended up getting home about 8:30am, totally stuffed and unable to sleep so it kind of wiped out Sunday and most of Monday.

I'm heading to Edinburgh on Saturday, I've booked a ticket on the train, although I have no accom' booked yet, other than that I don't really have any plans. Marina is off home on Thursday, she is taking a bus! From London to Belarus! Europe amazes me like that, that you can take a bus such a huge distance and through so many countries, it takes her something like 3 days to get home. It will be really sad to see her go, it's been great to have such a good friend to hang out with, I'll really miss her. (It's
Squirel2Squirel2Squirel2

But he shot up a tree, maybe they make nests!?
not true 😉)

Anyway, here's a bunch of photos. There are so many I've reduced the quality quite a bit, if anyone wants a better quality pic let me know.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

B&WB&W
B&W

Me trying to be artistic.
Arty shotArty shot
Arty shot

I like this one.
Duck1Duck1
Duck1

More birds.
Duck2Duck2
Duck2

More birds again.
Peter PanPeter Pan
Peter Pan

A statue of a great British hero, Peter Pan!
Market1Market1
Market1

Boring photos sorry, but I promised Michelle pics of the market!
Market2Market2
Market2

More markets, it wasn't that cheap actually, quite a touristy thing.
Market3Market3
Market3

All I bought was a jokey t-shirt for Michelle. Ssh, it's a surprise, don't tell her.
Queuing upQueuing up
Queuing up

Waiting to get into Brixton Academy.
People peoplePeople people
People people

Yep, people.
prettypretty
pretty

There's lots of these pretty light shots.
UpstairsUpstairs
Upstairs

You can't see much, but it's upstairs where all the drugged up people are sitting against the wall spaced out.
BenchesBenches
Benches

It was great, there were tons of these park benches to sit on if you needed a break.
Our benchOur bench
Our bench

We sat here for a while, on the left is my flatmate Mike from SA and there is a girl we met from NZ. Marina in the middle.
Our bench with meOur bench with me
Our bench with me

This one with me.
Dance dance danceDance dance dance
Dance dance dance

The dance floor.
Wow, lasers!Wow, lasers!
Wow, lasers!

The lighting was really amazing.


Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb