First day in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 3rd 2006
Published: August 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

London

August 2nd, 2006

Last night I arrived at my hotel smoothly, albeit after much transit. Gatwick has got to be one of the worst airports in terms onf confusion and inconvience. The luggage pickup is not plainly labled and slow. Then the train to south terminal. The gatwick express wasn't too bad to figure out, even though I just stumbled upon the right platform by luck. After the half an hour train ride, Victoria Station and cab. Thay are so cute, little minis with the door openning the completely wrong way. =) Finally, hotel. I had pared down my luggage significantly so I wasn't even overweight. I had to part with some good clothes and cosmetics! Boho. =,( British Airways has a very low luggage weight limit. Even so, it was a lot to lug around, a big suit case, a large travel backpack, a regular backpack, and my purse. At the hotel, I asked if I can have a non-smoking room. The clerk gave me a look. Hey, I'm American, and I'm tired. I don't want to smell like smoke all the time. There aren't a lot of non-smoking rooms but I got one. It's on the 9th floor, which is nice because of the view and because mosquitos can't fly that high. By the time I got into my room, it was 11pm. The room is small but nice, has everything I need. I even managed to get the safe working on the first try. You should be proud of me Gina. =) The bed is huge and soft. There is a coffee maker and a blow dryer, luxury! Before I fall asleep, I was watching MTV Cribs. Need to get my pop culture fix. I'll miss LA. Sigh. In Madrid, they think I'm very much of an LA girl, probably cuz I'm all about hair and clothes. =P Speaking of clothes, I am already thinking about outfitting myself with some London gear. =P You know, it's so cold here and all, and all I have are summer shorts and mini skirts.

I woke up super early, around 6:30am. I purposely left my window open so that the sunlight will wake me up. I wanted to get an early start as I'm quite excited to explore this city. I've always wanted to visit London, all that history, and all those books I've read over the years set in London. I guess I was so excited I couldn't really keep in bed much longer so I got up around 7:30. I don't think I've gotten up this early ever when I was in Madrid. So after my workout and my morning coffee, I was ready to explore this new city. I had bought a couple pair of shorts and gotten rid of most of my long pants during my moves in Madrid. It was so hot there that I haven't put on jeans or a jacket in over a month. I started out wearing my new pink shorts and a navy shirt. But as soon as I walked out of the front door, I turned right back around. London is freakin' cold! I changed into jeans and a tank top, and brought my jacket that I almost threw away in Madrid. Glad that I kept it. Even during the hotest time of the day, it was windy out and way too cold for me. Later in the afternoon I ended up putting on my jacket. Jacket and jeans in August? I don't know about this town . . .

At least I had comfortable walking shoes. Out of the two pairs of sandals I bought before I came to Europe this summer, I alread wore out one pair in Madrid and threw them away. Now I'm on the second pair. I walked from 11:30am to about 6pm today, so I was really glad of the shoes. My hotel is near the British Museum, and I started off trying to walk south. But soon figured out that it must be the other south. I was so annoyed with my lack of sense of direction. I did end up getting a grande coffee at Starbucks though, been ages since I had one of those. From what I've seen in London, you can't throw a rock and not hit a Starbucks or a pub. I don't know how all those Starbucks not compete with each other. There is literally one every five minutes. So after some bumbling around, I went back to the hotel and asked directions from the doorman. After about five minutes, I was lost again. I am hopeless! Luckily there was a Borders and I needed a map of London anyway. So I bought a map and asked the sales girl where Charing Cross Road was. Turns out I was on it. I am a disaster! Help! At last I found my way. I wanted to check out the National Portrait Galary since I've been wanting to go there for many years. I found it, hung about Trafalgar Square for a bit, checked out both the National Galary and the Portrait Galary. Finally put a face on all those scientists' whose theorems that I had to memorize in highschool and college and all of my favourite authors too. During the summer the museums are free, lucky me. After the museums I decided to walk east along the Thames. I saw the London Eye (a giant faires wheel that probably gives a good view of all of london), checked out the Globe Theatre (although not inside because they weren't open), the Golden Hind, and walked back along London Bridge. I was going to go to the Tower but it was already getting late and by the time I walk there, they'd probably be closed too. So I decided to cut back north across London Bridge and check out St. Paul's Cathedral. They were closed too! Only open for services. I just saw the outside.

In the middle of all this sightseeing, I did get a bit hungry around 3pm, still on Madrid time. I stopped by a fast food place called "EAT," (I'm a sucker for commericalism) and got a salad, water, and two small oranges, almost 10 bucks for just that. London is expensive.

On the way back home, the clouds were gathering and wind was picking up. Around 5 something pm, every one was scurrying along, catching buses or just walking fast. That combined with the impending weather made me hurry too. Such a difference from Madrid. I hardly ever hurried in Madrid, even if I was late, which I almost always was. I do miss Madrid. Tomorrow I'm going to carry my umbrella with me, at least some protection from the famously unpredictable weather. Another thing, I have to get used to walking on the other side of the sidewalk too.

I stopped by the grocery store on the way back. I don't like eating by myself in resturants, and it's so much more comfy to eat at home while watching TV. At least I can understand the TV here. Spanish programs sucked. At least they have MTV here and something like FOX. I can watch Friends, Desparate Housewives, and Sex and the City.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb