9. Who wears a trenchcoat in the summer?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 25th 2006
Published: July 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

"They're coming by in about 15 minutes to clear you guys out, you had better leave", a man informs me as he cleans up the garbage around the bushes. Without hesitation I pack up my sleeping back and get to my feet. I have just spent the night sleeping on the streets of one of the biggest cities in the world, at least I'm still alive. With that thought I make it my goal to find a hostel today, it is London and I have no doubt that I will find somewhere to sleep.
The previous night I had made mental note of a fairly close grocery store over by battersea park. At least its a Sainsburys and not a worthless 'Liddle', I'm becoming a grocery store snob. The cashier asks me if I"ve been out partying all night, I jokingly tell her I slept in a ditch. The bloodshot eyes, patchy beard and wirey hair certainly give her justification to think so. I take my lunch back to St. James and enjoy it under one of the magnificent trees that run along the edges. It incredible how many japanese tourists there are taking pictures, who knows how many japanese phots albums I could appear in.
The hostel beside St. Pauls does nothing more than waste time as I wait in there lounge as somebody talks to the only receptionist for 20 minutes. Besides, there's tons of cheap hostels near hyde park according to the internet. I walk and waste nearly the entire day near hyde park and find nothing substancial, as well the huge Hostel near Russel square is nowhere to be found and nobody on the street seems to know its location. My glasses would be a great help right about now, but as best I can guess they were forgotten back in Corwen by the police station. As it gets dark I once again get lost and walk aimlessly until almost midnight when St. James finally comes back into view. That bush by the bathroom is looking pretty appealing and I couldn't be happier when I'm the only homeless guy on this block once again. I fall asleep instantly, but while sleeping I dream that a man steps on me, he looks down and says " sorry mate" and leaves the bush. I think its a dream, but then why am I awake?
London is probably never quiet, but because of the recent bombings the police are almost constantly visible, and getting your bag checked is standard protocol. The threat of bombings soon becomes quite real as I come across a blocked off street after getting food and coming upon the main subway station. The word among the crowd is that only a few minutes ago the police shot a man in the subway who tried to run. I spend half an hour or so waiting before being diverted along the Thames. Maybe being in crowded places aren't so safe, and I even prompt myself to leave the changing of the guards half way through.
I have become quite homesick and phone my mother to change my flight from Dublin to London regardless of cost. Not knowing much about flights I'm devastated that a charter cannot be changed . My new course of action is to see how much a one way flight will cost and get the hell out of here.
I listen to a live orchestra in the park before retiring to my bushes for the third night. The idea of getting a ticket home is so exciting I can hardly sleep, but of course i eventually do.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb