London Day 4


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 2nd 2012
Published: October 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am getting over my jet lag and slept better last night, so I had an extra-busy day today. This morning I took the Tube to London Bridge. I walked across the bridge from the City to Southwark and that was definitely swimming upstream. All the bankers, businessmen, etc were walking the other way. I stopped in the middle of the bridge and took a photo of Tower Bridge. (see picture) Then I followed Rick Steve's Bankside walk along the south side of the Thames. When I first came to London in the 70's, I did not set foot on the south side because it was considered unsavory, dangerous, and there was nothing really to see. Now it is cleaned up and there are lots of attractions. I stopped at the Globe Theatre and inquired about tickets for tomorrow night, but they are sold out. (See picture) A little further on is the Tate modern, a huge art museum dedicated to modern art. I confess that the art did not attract me, but I very much enjoyed the wonderful view from the top floor. I sat in the café there and ate a pain-et-chocolate and watched the traffic on the river
and the Millennium Bridge. (See picture) I then walked across the bridge and caught a bus to Somerset House. I had not been there before, but I particularly wanted to see it because the large cobblestone courtyard is now open to the public. The courtyard looked as I expected, but the fountain jets that come out of the ground are capped for the winter, so I didn't get to see them in action. The Courtauld Gallery is located inside Somerset House, but I didn't feel like spending another afternoon in an art museum. So I caught the Tube and headed north to Camden town. Camden is famous for its "lock market". This is an eclectic collection of market stalls that is centered around the locks on the Regent Canal. I was curious to see the market and was not disappointed by some of the cheeky and cheap items for sale. But I actually went there for the Regent Canal cruise. The canalboat tour goes about 45 minutes out and 45 minutes back on the canal that used to bring coal and produce into London from central England. Today it contains refurbished canal boats that serve as floating homes for reasonably
well-to-do people. I enjoyed the cruise and it was a relaxing respite from all the walking and standing that I have been doing. The rain started just as the cruise ended and I decided to give Westminster Abbey another try. I arrived around 3 PM and they stop selling tickets at 3:30, but they don't actually close until 4:30. So I spent an interesting 90 minutes in the Abbey and I even found the memorial for an ancestor, Sir Thomas Bromley (1530-1587). (See picture) Afterward I had a pint of Guiness at a nearby pub and then came back to my apartment for dinner. This has turned into quite a long blog entry. I guess that is a sign that I am more alert this evening then I have been previously!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement





2nd October 2012

Nice day
Wow, sounds like it was an interesting day. Sky is a bit gloomy but that is London! Glad you got some rest so we can enjoy the sites, too!

Tot: 0.351s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb