London Day 3


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 1st 2012
Published: October 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

This morning I visited the Cabinet War Rooms (see picture) and Churchill Museum. I had heard good things about it and was not disappointed. I got to walk through the corridors that Winston Churchill and his subordinates used during World War II. It is a large underground area in the basement of the government buildings near Downing Street and it was from here that Churchill oversaw the war effort. Next I tried to go to Westminster Abbey, but despite what Rick Steves says, the Abbey is not open until 2 PM on Mondays. So I caught a bus to Trafalgar Square (see picture) and spent a worthwhile two hours in the National Gallery. It was more crowded than usual today because of the rain, but when I left the rain had stopped. I walked around Lesters Sq., Covent Garden, and Piccadilly Circus, before heading back to the apartment.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement




Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb